Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian
See also Ask a Librarian for University Libraries' Chat with a Librarian.
Available until midnight, Sunday-Thursday. Available until 8pm, Friday & Saturday.
Researching Precedents
Key Information
It's always a good idea to search for the building name and the designer, BUT, there may be more books and articles that are findable through searches for other key information about the building or site that can be used as keywords in a search.
Example:
- name of designer and firm [BIG, Bjarke Ingels]
- location [New Orleans, Mallorca, Brazil]
- building type [houses, museums, visitor centers]
Search Tip:
Most libraries and databases assign Subject Headings to books and articles. Not all the contents of the book or article are searchable in a library catalog or article database.
Research Resources
- OneSearchSearch for books, DVDs, building material samples, and other materials in the University Libraries and articles in select databases.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Key database in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. Also covers Archaeology, Decorative Arts, Interior Design, and Furniture. Some linked full text is included.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Index Full Text, a key database for art, provides full text articles from more than 300 titles. Of the 600 titles indexed, 280 are peer reviewed. The database also covers subjects such as interior design, costume design, architecture and landscape architecture. Art Index Full Text indexes titles back to 1984 and contains the full text of articles beginning in 1994.
- BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window Use BuildingGreen to read recent and past issues of the Environmental Building News, see hundreds of case studies, browse the CSI classification and LEED credit. According to the BuildingGreen website, the publisher of this database, BuidlingGreen is an independent company providing information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance, and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available. Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.
- Architecture Library Journals & MagazinesAlphabetical list of current subscriptions. Includes both in print and online subscriptions.