Virtual Lobby Display: Rails and Trails

French Cycling: a Social and Cultural History aims to provide a balanced and detailed analytical survey of the complex leisure activity, sport, and industry that is cycling in France. Identifying key events, practices, stakeholders and institutions in the history of French cycling, the volumepresents an interdisciplinary analysis of how cycling has been significant in French society and culture.

Contributors to this book explore the insights generated locally and internationally on the past, present and future of cycling. The focus of the first half of the book is largely on the current engagement with cycling, challenges faced by existing and would-be cyclists and the issues cycling might address. The second half of the book is concerned with strategies and processes of change.

Ride faster and more efficiently with Serious Cycling. Exercise scientists have unearthed a wealth of information that cyclists can use to improve their performance. However, most cyclists have never had access to this great body of knowledge. Now you do. Serious Cycling bridges the gap between scientific observation and cycling performance.

Paved and off-road bicycling are enormously popular in every state. Now there is a guide to help cyclists recognize and treat the wide range of injury and illness that can happen unexpectedly. From treatment for a broken nose to CPR, Mountain Bikers' Guide to Treating Medical Emergencies is a manual that is easy to use when faced with a medical emergency.

Packed with photographs and illustrations, Wheels and Wheeling combines a brief discussion of the development of the bicycle with a catalog of bicycles in the collections of the Smithsonian Institution.

Explains the benefits of biking for fitness, what a workout includes, and how to design a program. Also includes information on choosing the right bike and equipment, adjusting and maintaining a bike, and riding laws and safety measures.

If you want to enjoy a well-planned, well-equipped day hike or backpacking trek, take charge of your outing with Hiking and Backpacking. The book demystifies the outdoor experience, proving that you don't have to be a wilderness warrior to get back to nature and have fun. Whether you're a novice or a seasoned path master, the wealth of tips, techniques, and tricks will have you trailblazing like never before.

This detailed guide showcases the 100 best day hikes throughout the state of Indiana. In one handy volume, you will find all the information you need to enjoy self-guided tours of the most scenic hiking paths and trails. Each trail is marked on an easy-to-read map, and each trail description includes the trail distance, approximate hiking time, difficulty rating, and points of interest along the way.

With this new guide, hikers discover many of the local hidden hiking treasures that are in and around Ohio's most picturesque city, located on a historic river at the confluence of three states. Places such as Caldwell Nature Preserve, Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary, and Quiet Trails Nature Preserve offer incredible views, ample wildlife and wildflowers, and a chance to get away from everything and enjoy the simple pleasure of nature.

Focusing on the Chicago area's urban and rural areas and everything in between, this book features classic hikes at such lovely spots as Starved Rock State Park, as well as gems like the LaSalle Fish and Wildlife Area in northwestern Indiana. Extensive key-at-a-glance information makes it a snap to choose a hike based on length, difficulty, and scenery. Helpful lists highlight the best hikes for children, for wildlife viewing, and other categories. This edition includes five new hikes.

Hiking Michigan is your complete guide to the best day hikes in the state. No matter which region you wish to explore or how easy or hard of a trek you want, this handy book will lead you to the right trail and ensure that you don't miss anything on your journey. Whether you live in Michigan or are just visiting, there's no better way to discover the natural beauty of the state than with Hiking Michigan.

Smart & Savvy Hiking will walk readers through the basics of the outdoor world and how to have a fulfilling outdoor experience. This unique guide is packed with essential how-to information, wit, wisdom, and tips on everything from safety, to basic equipment, to hiking while pregnant. Smart & Savvy Hiking prepares females to have fun, enjoy, and be safe on a day hike through the woods, weekend blast in the desert, or extended journey on a long trail.

You've hiked in your area--and perhaps along some famous national trails. But have you ever wondered what you might be missing in the rest of the country? Jack Bennett decided to search for an answer. Bennett shares how each hike looked and felt, what weather and animals were encountered, and the emotional impact of every event and panorama.

The Appalachian Trail, a thin ribbon of wilderness running through the densely populated eastern United States, offers a refuge from modern society and a place apart from human ideas and institutions. In Tangled Roots, Mittlefehldt tells the story of the trail's creation, and how the trail remains an unusual hybrid of public and private efforts and an inspiring success story of environmental protection.

The Chicago & Northwestern railroad's "Cowboy Line" was active for more than one hundred years. Now the 321-mile-long rail line is being remade into Nebraska's first state recreational trail which, when completed, will become the nation's longest rail-to-trail conversion. The trail runs through numerous communities, accommodates multiple uses, and provides an up-close look at the ecology of the Great Plains--a view too easily missed when speeding by in a car.

From treatment for a sprained ankle to CPR, Hikers' and Backpackers' Guide to Treating Medical Emergencies is a manual that is easy to use when faced with a medical emergency. The book prepares hikers to prevent illness and injury; recognize illness and injury when it occurs; and remain calm and implement appropriate treatment when needed. With a refreshing splash of humor, this series is as informative as it is entertaining.

In 1917, Gilbert Gould achieved his dream to be an engineer, and began running engines for the Denver & Rio Grande and later for the Utah Railway. He was a natural storyteller, and his recollections are entertaining and historically rewarding.

Tom Swift and His Electric Locomotive is 25th first book in the original Tom Swift series. "Every boy possesses some form of inventive genius. Tom Swift is a bright, ingenious boy and his inventions and adventures make the most interesting kind of reading." These spirited tales convey in a realistic way, the wonderful advances in land and sea locomotion and other successful inventions. Stories like these are impressed upon the memory and their reading is productive only of good.

In 1894, an eighteen-year-old Jack London quit his job shoveling coal, hopped a freight train, and left California on the first leg of a ten thousand-mile odyssey. His adventure was an exaggerated version of the unemployed migrations made by millions of boys, men, and a few women during the "original great depression" of the 1890s. The best stories that London told about his hoboing days can be found in The Road, a collection of nine essays with accompanying illustrations, most of which originally appeared in Cosmopolitan magazine.

Francaviglia looks anew at the geographical-historical context of the driving of the golden spike in May 1869. He gazes outward from the site of the transcontinental railroad's completion--the summit of a remote mountain range that extends south into the Great Salt Lake. The transportation corridor that for the first time linked America's coasts gave this distinctive region significance, but it anchored two centuries of human activity linked to the area's landscape.