Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections Instruction Program

Type of Instruction

To request a class visit or to discuss instruction session options please contact libarchives@bsu.edu.

Class Visit

Bring your students to Archives and Special Collections for a class visit. We offer two different types of class visits:

  • Department Led: This is more of an orientation to Archives and Special Collections and includes basic information on what we offer, what archives and special collections is, and how primary source, printed material, and digital access can be utilized for student research.

  • Faculty Led: After a brief introduction by a member of the department, which can include a short overview, procedures, and/or searching, the faculty member will lead a class using items pulled from the Archives and Special Collections holdings.

Course Specific Research Project

Work with an archivist to help create a course specific project using material from our holdings. This could include a single assignment or more in-depth semester long project. This approach offers students deep understanding of Archives and Special Collections holdings; ability to examine and interpret primary sources; and allows students to undertake archival research through first-hand experience, ending in a research assignment or creative project.

Research Consultations 

Meet with an archivist one-on-one or as part of a course specific assignment to discuss finding and using material, specific collections overview, and research strategies.