LibGuides: Advertising & Public Relations: Finding Articles

Databases

These are the primary databases for locating articles relating to Advertising and Public Relations.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete indexes publications in all fields business including advertising and public relations. Also includes the text of many of the articles.
Description: Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Time Period: 1886 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

OneSearch
OneSearch not only allows you to find books in our collection it allows you to search for articles on all topics.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text indexes some advertising titles not included in Business Source Complete. Good for researching television commercials.
Description: Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a key resource for researchers of film and television, providing the most comprehensive, balanced collection of full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies.
Time Period:
Sources: Provides indexing for more than 560 journals and the full text for more than 160.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, English & Linguistics, Humanities, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes some advertising and public relations journals and trade publications.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of articles related to advertising and public relations. Good for advertising and public relations topics related to field of communication.
Description: Indexes research in the field of communication, mass media and related fields. Created by merging and expanding two previous databases: CommSearch
(formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State).
Time Period: 1915 to present
Sources: Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for 620 publications and the full text of more than 500. An additional 200 titles have selected indexing.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences, Technology (Communication, Journalism, Mass Media)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Find citations to articles about the art aspect of advertising.
Description: Art Index Full Text, a key database for art, provides full text articles from more than 300 titles. Of the 600 titles indexed, 280 are peer reviewed. The database also covers subjects such as interior design, costume design, architecture and landscape architecture. Art Index Full Text indexes titles back to 1984 and contains the full text of articles beginning in 1994.
Time Period: 1984 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 600 titles and contains full text articles from more than 300 periodicals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: none
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Find citations to articles written before 1984 about the art aspect of advertising.
Description: Major index in the field of art, covering journals published from 1929-1984. See Art Index for journals published 1985-present.
For concurrent use of Art Index and Art Index Retrospective, open Art Index Retrospective, Click on Choose Database above the search box and select Art Full Text.
Time Period: 1929 to1984
Sources: Indexes over 600 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: 4