Zotero Citation Management Software

Zotero is a free desktop application which allows you to collect and manage citations, insert citations into a paper, and create bibliographies.  It uses a browser extension called Zotero Connect which helps you collect citations.  You can store up 300 MB of citations and articles for free.  You can also upgrade your storage to 2GB, 6 GB, or unlimited for $20, $60, or $120.

You can collect citations to be added to your library two ways.

1. Using Zotero Connect

This is the simplest way to do it.  With this method you would do a search in one of our databases or on the web.  After you click on the search button, the results list will display.  Next you would select the Zotero Connect extension in your web browser which will look for the citations on that page.  A window will open with the article titles it found on the page, then you can select which ones you want to include in your library.  From a workflow perspective it might also make sense to add the articles one by one.  You would click on one of the article titles on the results list, look at the abstract to determine if you actually want to add to your library. If so, you would then click on the Zotero Connect extension to add it.

Pro

• It is easy
• Works well for most databases (sometimes it doesn't export the author names)

Con

• Doesn't always export all of the information (seems to do fine with Avery)

2. Using the export function inside a library database

Many of our databases have a way to add articles to a list to export.  You might see a checkbox to the left of article title on the results list or maybe a folder to the right of title.  Either way, add it to the list and look for a way to export it.  In EBSCO databases such as Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, there is a yellow folder to the right of the article title.  Once you have added the titles you want to include from that search, click on the Go To Folder View link in the right column of the results list and follow the on-screen instructions. 

Pro

• Works well for most databases
• Works well with EBSCO databases (e.g. APA PsycInfo, ERIC EBSCOhost)

Con

• Doesn't work with WorldCat

Collections- You can drag citations from your library into collections.  This will allow you to sort them for use on different projects. 

Duplicates- If you import a citation for the same source more than once, Zotero will put them in the Duplicate Items folder.  You can merge them into one citation.  Zotero will determine how they differ and will allow you substitute content from the other versions of the citation.  You can then merge them into one citation, taking the best information from each of them. 

Editing citations in your library- Sometimes the information in the citation is incorrect.  To edit the citation, put your pointer on the text you wish to edit and left click.  When you are done editing, click somewhere else on the screen and the change will be saved.  Citations should automatically update in your document, if it doesn't update click on the Refresh button on the Zotero tab in Word.

Deleting a citation from document- Highlight the citation you wish to delete from your document and then press the Delete key or right click on the highlighted text and select Cut.  The entry will stay in the works cited list.  You can delete it the same way.

Deleting a citation from a library- Select the citation you wish to delete. right click on it and select Move Item to Trash.  Empty the trash to completely remove it from the library.

Inserting a citation

To insert an in-text citation, put your cursor where you want the citation to appear, click on the Add/Edit Citation button on the Zotero tab in Word.  That will open the search red search box where can enter the author's name or some words from the title.  Citations matching the search terms will show up below the search box.  Select the citation you want to include from the list and it will be added in the search box.  If you want to include other citations in the same in-text citation, enter other search terms in the box and select the citation.  Once you have selected all of the citations you want in the in- text citation, press enter.

Adding page numbers, omitting the author's names, prefixes and suffixes

Once you have added citations, but before you press enter, you can left click on the citation to add page numbers and prefixes or suffixes.  There is also check box there which will allow you to omit the author's name.

Adding citations to your works cited list

When you add your first in-text citation, put your cursor where you want the works cited list to begin.  Then click on the Add/Edit Bibliography on the Zotero tool bar.  The citation that goes with the first in-text citation will be added.  From that point on citations will be added to the works cited page each time you add an in-text citation.  Zotero automatically alphabetizes your works cited list.

Creating a bibliography as a separate document

To create a bibliography, open your Zotero library and select the citations you wish to include by left clicking on them while pressing either CTRL or Shift.  Holding CTRL allows you to select individual citations.  Holding Shift allows you select a range of citations.

Once you have selected the citations to include in the bibliography, right click on one of the selected citations and select Create Bibliography from items...  Then select a citation style, press Ok, and name and save the bibliography.

iPad and iPhone users

You can collect, organize, annotate and create citations using the Zotero app in the apps store.  Once you download the app, you can do all of the that from within your web browser using your Zotero Web Library.  Neither option allows you to insert citations into a document.  Downloading the app will allow you to collect citations using Safari. 

Android users

Although there is an official Zotero mobile app for android devises, it is in Beta.  Alternatively, you can use your Zotero Web Library from within your web browser to organize, annotate and create citations.  However, you will not be able to insert citations into a document.