Skip to Main Content

UD 640: History of Urban Form (Phillippe)

Keywords for Searches

Try multiple searches and search combinations including:

City name
Geographic area
Time period
Specific place names
Names of individuals
Keywords such as: history / geography / city planning / archaeology

Examples keyword searches:

Portland and Oregon and history
Central Park
lakefront and Chicago
Daniel Burnham
Olmsted and New York
St. Louis and 20th century

Resources

OneSearch
Look for Filters on the left side of the results screen, such as "eBook Full Text Online."
America: History and Life
Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1960's to the present, containing articles on all eras of American and Canadian history.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in built environment journals and magazines.
Description: Key database in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. Also covers Archaeology, Decorative Arts, Interior Design, and Furniture. Some linked full text is included.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Humanities, Mobile
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles
Information Included: Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Weekly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Interlibrary Loan at Ball State University Libraries
Login to see the status of your requests and access PDFs.
JSTOR
Academic journal archive with full text of articles.
Google Scholar
Search tip: In Google Scholar, go to ‘Settings’ and ‘Library links’ and choose Ball State University in order to see which items in your results may be accessed via a University Libraries subscription.

STATS Indiana This link opens in a new window
Includes demographic data for cities in the United States.
Description: Provides economic and demographic statistics and characteristics for and about Indiana.
Time Period: Current and historical
Sources: 1
Subject Headings: General, Business (Indiana)
Scholarly or Popular: Popular
Primary Materials: Statistics and demographics
Information Included: Full text
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Indiana Business Research Center
Updates: Irregular
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited