Librarian
Finding a Topic
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowContains overview of more than 500 topics. The overview provides background information, both pro and con arguments, as well as a guide to critical analysis for each topic. You can either browse or search topics.
- ProCon.orgProvides a list of a wide variety of topics along with an introduction to them. Topics include things such as bans on fur clothing, free college, sanctuary cities, zoos, milk drinking, and binge watching
Finding Peer Reviewed and Scholarly Articles About Your Issue
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowGood for scholarly articles, also contains some magazine and newspaper articles too! It is good for most research topics. Includes the article text most of the time and when it is not, it has FindIT @ BSU which will help you find the text. You can limit your search to peer reviewed articles. If your topic relates to a specific area of study you might consider one of the databases listed in the Discipline Specific Database area below.
- Congressional Research Service Reports (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new windowLibrary of Congress' collection of Congressional Research Service reports authored by the Congressional Research Service, which is the non-partisan research arm of the Library of Congress.
- Congressional Research Service Reports (University of North Texas) This link opens in a new windowA more complete collection of Congressional Research Service reports by the University of North Texas.
Discipline Specific Database
News and Magazine Articles Including Editorials
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNews from around the world including editorials and opinion pieces. You can limit to a country and state. To limit to editorials put Editorial OR Opinion in a separate search and select Section from the dropdown box.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowLots of major newspapers, legal and business resources, as well as magazines. Do a search using the big search box and limit to newspapers, magazines, etc. using the Publication Type limits in the left column of the results list.
Finding Books
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowGood for both books and articles. This is where you would go to find books in our library's collections. You will want to capitalize Boolean operators (e.g. AND, OR, NOT) and put quotes around phrases. It has a Peer Review limit and facets on the results list to narrow by content type (e.g. books, video recordings, etc.).