Hi, Theatre students! I'm your library liaison. If you have questions, just contact me!
Bracken Library
Lower Level, BL 087
Having Trouble? Ask a Librarian!
Visit the Ask a Librarian page to find out the many ways you can get help from a librarian. Chat with us, phone us, email us, text us -- you can even talk to us in person or set up an individual appointment to get the assistance you need!
Musical Theatre History
Welcome, Theatre 324 students!
These databases will help you find the sources you need for your paper on a figure in the history of musical theatre. You'll need to find biographical information as well as information about your chosen person's influence on the genre of musical theatre.
If you have questions as you're doing your research, please contact Jackson Harmeyer (jackson.harmeyer@bsu.edu).
Good luck!
Databases You'll Want to Start With
These databases are linked from the Ball State University Libraries' Databases page.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is a tool that cross-searches much of the content in our databases and other online sources. It allows you to find books owned by the BSU Libraries, as well as articles and other documents on a wide range of subjects.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains full-text from the top performing arts journals. The database covers dance, theatre, and related topics such as film, drama, and comedy. Use MultiLinkBSU to find the full text.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowDigital Theatre+ is a collection of resources related to theatre, including video, audio, and text resources. There are nearly 300 e-learning resources such as interviews, lectures. and courses on a variety of topics. Some examples include acting, classical theatre, directing.
Other Helpful Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.
Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull text database of journals in disciplines such as art, literature, history, political science, and economics. Some full text will come from the JSTOR database, in PDF format.
Find It @ Ball State: Helping you find the full text of the title you want
When you'
re using a database, and can't find a link to the full text of an article, look for a Find It @ Ball State button.
Find It helps you to search the Libraries' other databases and subscriptions to see if the full text is available through another resource.
- If it is available, Find It provides a link to the text of the article.
- If it cannot find the full-text, Find It provides a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request that we get a copy of the article from another library.
To use Find It, click on the red Find It @ Ball State button.
If we DO have full text access to the article, a page will be displayed with options for access under "Full Text Format Options." The typical options are:
- PDF: the file format reflecting the formatting for a printed page
- Link: taking you to the webpage version of the article
If we do NOT have immediate full text access to the article, the OneSearch record for the article will be displayed.
- Look under "Links" for "Request this item with InterLibrary Loan / ILLiad."
- Click there, and log in with your Ball State username and password.
- More information about placing an Interlibrary Loan request.
