Librarian Profile
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
Library Links & Services
- Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by chat, phone, email, in-person or schedule a reference appointment.
- Course ReservesLook for library materials reserved for your use by your professors.
- FAQs at the University LibrariesFind the answers to frequently asked questions about the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or another item not available in the Ball State University Libraries.
- OneSearchA meta-search engine for materials owned and managed by University Libraries, databases we subscribe to, and other resources for research.
- Software LocatorType the name of the program you are looking for to see if University Libraries has it on any computers and where those computers are located.
- University Libraries Computer Availability ToolFind out which University Libraries public access computers are in use and what software is on them with this tool.
Related Subject Guides
- LibGuides: Health, Medicine, and NursingLibrary subject guides pertaining to health, medicine, and nursing.
- LibGuides: Science and TechnologyLibrary subject guides pertaining to science, technology, mathematics, and engineering.
About & Hours
The Health Library (HLib) is located on the first floor near the main entrance of the Health Professions Building in room HB 101. It provides on-site access to health- and medicine-specific research materials and services for students, clinicians, and researchers in fields of medical and health science-related study including nursing, nutrition, audiology, speech pathology, social work, and counseling psychology.
The HLib also provides access to a full-service circulation point; users may return and renew most library materials from any University Libraries location, pick up books on hold/recalled materials, and check on account information. There are also two study rooms for study groups, meetings, or individual study. Study Room B (ie the one with the windows) may be reserved through our Open Room Reservation system during business hours.
Modified Hours, 14 May - 22 August 2021
-
Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m.- 6 p.m.
-
Saturday-Sunday: Closed
Regular Hours (hopefully to resume Fall Semester 2021)
-
Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m.-9 p.m.
-
Friday: 7:30 a.m.-6 p.m.
-
Saturday: 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
-
Sunday: 1 p.m.-9 p.m.
For more information about holiday and break hours go to the Main Libraries hours page and click on the Do Research tab.
Searching the Collection: OneSearch
Searching the Collection: OneSearch
Use OneSearch to search or browse for any of the items in the collection. If you know the title, enter it in the search box:
To browse the collection:
- In OneSearch, click the search button without entering search terms.
- Limit your search to the Library Catalog.
- Use the content type facet on the left to limit your search to the type of material you need (e.g. DVD, book/ebook). OR use the library location facet to limit to a specific Health Library collection (e.g. reference, journals).
- Use other facets, such as publication date, genre, subject, or discipline, to further refine your search.
- Make note of the call number and find it on the shelf (for books) or bring it to the Health Library service counter (everything else).