Librarian
About This Guide
This guide contains links to databases and tips on how to use them. You will also find links to short video tutorials on finding cases, law review articles, statutes, and journal articles in ERIC (EBSCOhost). There is also a tutorial about citing legal resources.
Here are links to the all of the video tutorials.
Finding Cases: Nexis Uni
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowYou can find cases two ways in Nexis Uni. If you have a citation (e.g. 9 N.E. 3d 230), enter in the search box. You can also do a keyword search using single words or short phrases (e.g. "free speech" AND "best practices"). You can limit to cases using the facets in the left column of the results list.
Pro tip: Cases have headnotes which tell you about the legal issues the case addresses. They are hyperlinked-- clicking on the links will take you to other cases that address same legal issue.
Relevant Videos:
Strategies for Finding a Case Related to Your Topic
- See what cases are mentioned in your textbook or other readings look them up in Nexis Uni (Here's how)
- Use West's Education Law Digest, located in Bracken Library (Here's how)
- Find a law review article in Nexis Uni on your topic, they will cite cases related to the topic (Here's how)
Pro Tip: Law review articles may provide a history of your topic in addition to citing relevant cases and statutes.
Finding Cases: West's Education Law Digest
- West's Education Law DigestThis is a multi-volume print source which is located in Bracken Library. The set contains summaries of cases arranged by legal topic. Cases are given "key numbers," which is a combination of a word, representing the broad topic, and a number which represents a subtopic (e.g. Courts 89). Users can use the outline of the key number system at the beginning of each volume to determine what key number relates to their topic. The user then looks that number up in the digest. There they will find brief summaries of cases related to that topic and subtopic. The case citation is also included (e.g. 9 N.E. 3d 230). The text of the decision can be looked up in Nexis Uni.
Relevant Videos:
Finding Law Review Articles: Nexis Uni
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowRelevant law review articles can be found in Nexis Uni. Articles are written by legal scholars and often provide background about a legal topic as well as references to relevant cases. Many times, they include a history of the issue and make an argument for why the current law should be changed.
Here are some tips:
1. Do a citation search using a law review citation which you found in your reading, enter it in the search box. (e.g. 55 U.C. Davis L. Rev. 209).
2. Do a keyword search using a couple of search concepts which relate to your topic (e.g. Schools AND "free speech"). Select Law Reviews and Journals from the facets in the left column of the results list.
3. Put quotes around phrases to help insure the database finds them as phrases rather than as separate words.
Relevant videos:
Finding Statutes Related to Your Topic
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowAccess state and federal codes and regulations (e.g. United States Code, Indiana Administrative Code). There are three ways you can this.
Browsing: Begin entering the source name in the search box (e.g. ind. code). Source suggestions will begin to appear below the search box. You will also see an icon to the right of the source title (it looks like an outline or a table of contents). Click on the icon and this will allow you access to the source.
Keyword searching: Begin entering the source name in the search box (e.g. ind. code). Source suggestions will begin to appear below the search box. Select the source you wish to do a keyword search on and then enter your search terms into the search box.
Citation searching: If you have a citation (e.g. Ind Code 20-35-8-1) enter it in the search box and click on the search button.
Relevant Videos:
Finding Journal Articles in ERIC
Articles from education journals, will help you identify and explain the importance of your judicial, legislative, or public policy. They may discuss significant holdings, trends in litigation, relevant law, and contrary opinions (Law review articles may be particularly useful for this). ERIC (EBSCOhost) will be a good source for this type of information.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, ERIC Documents, reports, etc. using keywords which describe your topic.
Relevant Video:
Finding Background Information
Use the Congressional Research Service Reports databases linked below to find government reports prepared by The Congressional Research Service which is tasked with "providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation."
- Congressional Research Service Reports (University of North Texas) This link opens in a new windowThis database is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the University of North Texas Libraries and includes reports not officially released to the public. See the link below for reports made available from the Library of Congress.
- Congressional Research Service Reports (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to reports prepared by the Congressional Research Service and are added as they are made available to congress.
