Mathematical Sciences

Recommended databases and interfaces (ie aggregators)

Ball State University Libraries provides access to authoritative and accurate sources of information on peer-reviewed and otherwise scholarly publications through the Articles & Databases page.  Remember that part of your tuition goes to pay for such resources and services- you do have a subscription to journals like Nature through your status as a student at Ball State.

The Articles & Databases pages can be viewed in a couple of different ways.  You can look at an A-Z list of all the databases we offer access to or you can choose a subject (e.g. Science or Technology) and just look at databases relevant to your field of interest. 

For instance, go to the Articles & Databases page and click the Subject menu box. Then click on the Science menu item.  This will bring up only those databases concerned with the hard sciences including mathematics.  Another area that might be of use is Technology. Remember: just because it doesn’t say MATHEMATICS doesn’t mean it can’t be relevant to what you are doing.  Do not neglect a source because it does not seem to fit your conception of what you want.

Beginning Tools:
Web of Science
ScienceDirect
Ingenta Connect

More focused/in depth:
MathSciNet
Applied Science & Technology Index
JSTOR (112 full-text journals on mathematics and statistics)
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery publications clearinghouse)

General Research & Reference:
Oxford Reference Online
Academic Search Complete (an EBSCO database)
Department of Energy (DOE) Information Bridge
Annual Reviews
Science.gov

Other useful tools:
WorldCat
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) (similar to Scirus)
SciFinderⁿ (chemistry-focused but also covers lots of biomedical sources and accesses Medline)
Abbreviations.com (find full journal titles from abbreviations)