Related Subject Guides
- SciTech LibGuidesLibrary subject guides pertaining to science, technology, or health science.
Library Links & Services
- Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by chat, phone, email, in-person or schedule a reference appointment.
- Course ReservesLook for library materials reserved for your use by your professors.
- FAQs at the University LibrariesFind the answers to frequently asked questions about the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, article, or another item not available in the Ball State University Libraries.
Librarian Profile
Kevin Brooks
Contact:
kbrooks2@bsu.edu
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
765-285-1118
Useful Links
A selection of useful websites and databases that offer a reliable foundation for launching research in chemistry. Most are managed outside of Ball State network.
- Abbreviations of Chemical CompoundsLook up abbreviations of common chemical compounds
- American Chemical Society portalInformation on ACS meetings, resources, forums, and careers.
- Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)Link to outside product and project information only. The database is available at selected terminals in the Chemistry Department.
- Chem Industrycomprehensive directory and search engine for chemical and related industry professionals. Our databases of Web sites include more than 75,000 Chemical industry-related entities containing the full text of millions of pages and specialized search services for chemical names, jobs, market research and consultants.
- Chemical Analysis.comProvides service for connecting researchers to laboratories. Also links to news, chemical analysis societies, journals, and web-based information sources.
- Chemistry Comes Alive!Classic chemistry videos from the 1980s produced by the Journal of Chemical Education (an ACS title)
- ChemWeb Learning PlatformWorld Wide Web club for chemistry enthusiasts providing chemistry resources, journals, etc. Requires free registration.
- Common Chemistry (CAS)Welcome to Common Chemistry™ from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,800 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Common Chemistry is helpful to non-chemists who know either a name or CAS Registry Number® of a common chemical and want to pair both pieces of information.
- EndNote from Ball StateEndNote is a commercial reference management software package, used to manage bibliographies and references when writing essays and articles. Ball State students and employees can get a free copy of EndNote by downloading it from the Ball State Software and Services download page. Learn how to download and install EndNote.
- European patent officeFree search of worldwide patents.
- FirstGov for ScienceLinks to U.S. government science websites.
- Information Literacy Resources from ACRLAssociation of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) website about information literacy including definitions, standards and guidelines, bibliographies, and professional activities and organizations.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookNational Institute of Standards and Technology site providing chemical and physical properties for over 30,000 compounds.
- Organic Compounds DatabaseSearch compounds by melting point, boiling point, refraction index, and other physical properties. Maintained by Colby College.
- Periodic Table of VideosEach element has its own informational video from the University of Nottingham, UK.
- SciFinder^nSciFinder^n is chemistry-focused but also covers lots of biomedical sources and accesses Medline. It is ONLY available through the Foundational Sciences Library's subject guide.
- SciFinder^n TrainingThese How To Guides show step-by-step examples and include tips for using a variety of features available in SciFinder^n.
- WebElements (periodic table)Quality online periodic table