Segregation Research - ARCH 352 - Keddy - LibGuides at Ball State University

Finding Books

Search CardCat for books. Examples of subjects:

Segregation in education
Segregation and United States and history
African Americans--Segregation
Discrimination in housing
Racism--United States
United States--Race relations
African American architecture

Search also for building types, such as:

Motion picture theaters
School buildings
Baseball fields
Stadiums

Search WorldCat for books in other libraries. Use the interlibrary loan request links to request a copy of the book.

More on finding/renewing/recalling books.

Find Articles in America: History & Life

Search America: History & Life for articles. Keywords include:

Segregation in education
Segregation and schools and [geographic place name]
African Americans and schools
Discrimination in education
Segregation and theaters
African Americans and theaters
Discrimination in sports

More History databases available through the University Libraries. See "History" under the "Databases by Subject" on the left side.

More Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A good general database.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
For articles on school buildings.
Description: ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Time Period: 1966-present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Mobile, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: U.S. Department of Education
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Health databases
See "Health" under "Databases by Subject" on the left side of the page. Search the health databases for articles on segregation and hospitals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of 420 scholarly journals. Archives journals back to first issues, but does not include most recent 3-5 years or more for most titles.
Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.

Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Includes topics in social history.
Description: Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Time Period: 1952 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 1,800 journals.
Subject Headings: Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Sociology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Dissertations and Theses, Books, Conference Papers
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Sport Discus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Key database for sport medicine, sports administration, physical education, and physical therapy. The database does have some items published in the 19th century.
Description: Key database for sport medicine, physical education, and physical therapy. The database does have some items published in the 19th century.
Time Period: 1975-present
Sources: over 2,000 journals
Subject Headings: Education, Health, Mobile (Physical Education and Sports Medicine)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings
Information Included: Citations, abstracts, full text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Sport Information Resource Centre
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: 2-4