Hi, Theatre students! I'm your library liaison. Ask me questions!
Bracken Library
Lower Level, BL 087
Your assignment
From your syllabus:
Throughout the semester, you are to incorporate an ‘at home’ practice of some sort. This could take the form of yoga, HIIT workouts practiced in class (darebee.com), Instagram workouts, etc. [...]
While there are all sorts of exercises and cardio moves you could come up with off the top of your head, my suggestion is that the best workout will be built with recommendations from trusted sources.
This guide is meant to provide you choices from reputable websites and library databases.
OneSearch for books and videos
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
To find books and videos in OneSearch related to working out, and exercise, try this search:
Then use the limiters on the left, as shown here:
Note: I don't recommend using "Streaming Video." Search directly on Kanopy below.
The books will be in the General Collection, on the upper floors of Bracken Library. Use the Book Locations and Floorplans page to figure out the exact floor to go to, based on the first couple letters of the call number. The call number is circled in the image below. RA, for example, can be found on 4 West.
The video recordings will be available in Education, Music and Media, on the lower level of Bracken.
Kanopy Streaming Films for videos of workouts and exercise topics
- Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.
Note: Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Reliable websites to explore
- American Council on Exercise (ACE): Exercise Database and Library
ACE is a non-profit organization which certifies health coaches and exercise professionals. Their ACE Fit Exercise Database and Library offers a variety of movements to choose from, including choosing exercises by body part, by experience level, and by equipment.
- ExRx.net: Exercise Prescription on the Internet
A resource for exercise professionals, coaches, and fitness enthusiasts, the ExRx site features comprehensive exercise libraries (over 1900 exercises), fitness assessment calculators, and reference articles. The Beginner's Page includes templates for designing a workout.
Journal articles for more current research
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
- Sport Discus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window Key database for sport medicine, sports administration, physical education, and physical therapy. The database does have some items published in the 19th century.
Some of the books, videos, and guides above might be a little dated. If you're wanting to learn the most recent research related to some new trend in exercise, searching for articles is the way to go. OneSearch and Sport Discus are good resources for that.
To limit to scholarly research:
When all else fails...
Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' collections via WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.