Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture Building Material Samples

Resources related to architecture, landscape architecture, and urban planning building materials.

Permeable Surfaces

Permeable surfaces title slide
Impervious surfaces are nonporous and commonly used on parking lots, roads, and walkways.

Samples of Impervious Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Asphalt

Concrete

Concrete Reinforcement Materials

Concrete Coloring and Textures

Examples include concrete, asphalt, and brick. All increase the urban “heat-island effect” and stress the stormwater system.

Samples of Impervious Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Asphalt

Concrete

Concrete Reinforcement Materials

Concrete Coloring and Textures

Permeable pavers infiltrate and cleanse stormwater by allowing water to flow through the gaps in-between the pavers.

Samples of Permeable Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Unilock 3000-series Pavers

PaverLock Concrete Pavers

VAST: Composite Paver System

StormPave

Pavers

Masolite Pavers

Concrete Paver Units

Permeable pavers reduce stress on the stormwater system and reduce the heat island effect through evaporation and percolation of water.

Samples of Permeable Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Unilock 3000-series Pavers

PaverLock Concrete Pavers

VAST: Composite Paver System

StormPave

Pavers

Masolite Pavers

Concrete Paver Units

Porous paving contains many voids throughout its structure that allow water to infiltrate the soil at a high rate.

Samples of Porous Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Porous Concrete

FilterPave Porous Surfacing

Flexi-Pave Permeable Surfacing

Masolite Pavers

Stone and Aggregate

Porous paving reduces reduces thermal pollution, runoff, and stormwater. It also recharges ground water.

Samples of Porous Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Porous Concrete

FilterPave Porous Surfacing

Flexi-Pave Permeable Surfacing

Masolite Pavers

Stone and Aggregate

While the previous porous surfacing incorporated recycled materials, vegetated surfacing is also an option.

Samples of Vegetated Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Plantable Concrete System

 

Vegetated surfacing reduces stormwater load and further reduces the surface’s impact on the “heat-island effect.”

Samples of Vegetated Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Plantable Concrete System

 

Albedo is a measure of the ability of a material to refect energy. High albedo materials reflect a lot of energy which results in a lower overall temperature.

Samples of Low Albedo Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Unilock 3000-series Pavers

PaverLock Concrete Paver

StormPave

Pavers

Concrete Paver Units

Due to the light color of the surfacing, it has a relatively high albedo, which in turn reduces the amount it would contribute to the “heat-island effect.”

Samples of Low Albedo Surfacing Available in the Building Material Samples Collection

Unilock 3000-series Pavers

PaverLock Concrete Paver

StormPave

Pavers

Concrete Paver Units