Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science

A guide to library resources in political science. Bookmark or directly link to this guide using the URL http://bsu.libguides.com/polisci

Articles

A small image cropped from an articleSearch the University Libraries' databases for articles about your topic. The databases listed on this page were chosen because they contain articles from political science journals, including scholarly sources. This page also features tips on finding political science journals in the print collection. 

Encyclopedias, etc.

Thumbnail cropped from an image of a dictionary of politicsReference resources like encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent sources of background information and quick answers. They are particularly helpful when you are researching an unfamiliar topic. The University Libraries own a number of print and online encyclopedias about political science. 

Books

Thumbnail cropped from photo of books on shelves in the General CollectionSearch for books about political science topics. Books are helpful as sources of in-depth information on specific topics, as well as overviews of broader ones. OneSearch will help you find books within the University Libraries. WorldCat will help you find and request books from other libraries - free of charge!

Countries and U.S. states

Thumbnail cropped from a map of EuropeThe resources on this page provide statistics and background information on foreign countries and U.S. states. Collectively, they cover governments, policies, elections, economics, trade, demographics, infrastructure, history, militaries, and more. Some are available online and some in print. 

Archives & Special Collections

Still image of former U.S. Senator Birch Bayh captured from democratic presidential primary interview in the DMRThe Archives and Special Collections houses rare and historical sources of potential interest to political science students, including television footage of Indiana politicians and materials depicting visits to Ball State by Robert Kennedy and Eleanor Roosevelt. Many sources are available online. 

OneSearch

OneSearch is an excellent place to begin searching for sources on an unfamiliar topic. Simultaneously search books, e-books, articles and journals from multiple databases, encyclopedias, and other digital collections. OneSearch can also be helpful if you have had trouble finding sources elsewhere.