Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources For Music Study

Subscription and open-access content for the study of both applied and academic music studies.

Find Scholarly Articles about Music

OneSearch includes indexes to articles in the Libraries' online and print subscriptions.  You can also use these specialized indexing services for music, accessible from the Databases page: 

  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature includes information about articles, books, dissertations, and reviews published since the mid-1960s in dozens of languages.  You can limit your search to peer-reviewed/scholarly articles, and further limit by date and language.
  • Music Index lists scholarly and non-scholarly articles, mainly in English, published since the 1960s.  

Neither of these services includes full text of articles, but you can use MultiLink to connect to full text when it is available.  When the article is not available, MultiLink gives you the option to request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Tips for Finding Scholarly Articles through OneSearch:

Start with keywords for your topic, including numbers such as BWV or Opus numbers if applicable:

From the list of results, under "Refine Your Search" select "Scholarly & Peer Review:"

 

 

 

 

 

 

Additional facets on the left side of the page include language and publication date: