Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources For Music Study

Subscription and open-access content for the study of both applied and academic music studies.

Reference Sources for Music

The following reference resources are available through the Ball State Libraries (log in required from off campus):

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (2001), edited by Nicolas Slonimsky and Laura Kuhn

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990 (2004)

The Encyclopedia of Popular Music (2006), by Colin Larkin

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music (2003)

The Oxford Companion to the American Musical:  Theatre, Film, and Television (2008), by Thomas S. Hischak

The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2012)

References Sources online from Ball State Libraries

Click here for a OneSearch results list of encyclopedias and dictionaries available online through the Libraries' catalog.

Reference Sources that may be useful for music research:

A Dictionary of Media and Communication (2016)

Language Resources:

New Oxford American Dictionary (2011)

Oxford Dictionary of English (2011)

Fowler's Concise Dictionary of Modern English Usage (2015)

The Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style (2000)

The Oxford Dictionary of English Usage (2014)

New Oxford Rhyming Dictionary (2012)

The Oxford Companion to the English Language (2018)