Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MuHi Historical Periods

Information divided by historical period

Research Tips for MuHi Papers

Photo of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., 2001Step One: Oxford Music Online 

The Oxford Music Online includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2001), an encyclopedia/dictionary.  Articles about most composers include a list of works and a bibliography.  The works lists indicate volume number for collected sets, most of which are owned by Ball State's Music Collection.

Use the bibliography to identify the most important and relevant articles, books, and dissertations about your topic.  "Find in Your Library" searches both articles and books through OneSearch, and offers the option for Interlibrary Loan when Ball State does not own the item.

For scores, search CardCat first, using Advanced Search to specify Score, Musical.  Many works are included in editions of composers' complete works or in scholarly series, so you may also need to search these indexing sources:

Heyer: Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music

  • Music Collection Reference:  ML 113 .H52 1980

Hill:  Collected Editions, Historical Series & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography

  • ML 113 .H55 1997

Oxford Music Online indexes complete editions of works list for most major composers.

Step Two:  Books (Monographs)

Use OneSearch to identify books about your topic. 

For Music Collection holdings, limit your search to "Library Catalog."  

If there are too many results, you can limit the results to "Books/Ebooks" as the

Content Type.

Step Three:  Scholarly Articles

For scholarly articles published after the latest citation in the Grove Music Online bibliography for your topic, use RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and Music Index.   You can limit by year of publication in these and other search engines, to keep your results manageable.  If there are too many results in languages other than English, you can also narrow your search to items in English.

JSTOR is an online depository of core scholarly journals in all subjects, including 76 core titles in music.  Scroll down to the subject list to click on "Music" for a search of only music titles.  You can also find a specific article by clicking on the title within the "Music" list, and then finding the date of the issue you need.  JSTOR's backfile includes issues published before the earliest indexing dates of both RILM and Music Index.

Citation Information for Term Papers

Most scholarly books and journals in music history and theory use the Chicago Manual of Style.  Though a very comprehensive guide, it does not always cover music scenarios thoroughly.  These resources can help you decide the best way to cite a source:

 

 

When using an online source, check for citation information, including a DOI (digital object identifier) or permalink.  Library resources usually include citation formats for copying.  

OneSearch uses the quotation mark as a symbol:

In RILM, Music Index, or other databases hosted by Ebscohost, the "Cite" icon is to the right of the detailed view of the item:

JSTOR offers a "Cite this item" link to the right of each item in a list of search results: