Librarian
Related Guides
- Annotated Bibliographies GuideLearn about how to do an annotated bibliography.
- Company and Industry InformationMore information using business databases.
- LibKey NomadHelps you find article text more easily.
About This Guide
As a part of your assignment, you will need to select a topic from your textbook to research. This guide is designed to help you locate reliable sources (i.e. books and articles) for the annotated bibliography portion of your paper. See the boxes below for suggested databases and tips.
Finding Articles
Search for articles related to your topic for deliverable 2. Articles can also help you when you prepare to interview a manager for deliverable 1. Doing a general search about your topic might give you some ideas about what to ask in your interview. You could look at the article titles and abstracts, to help you identify useful articles to read. For example, say you want to write about the topic of chapter 3 of your textbook (Values, Attitudes, Emotions, and Culture: The Manager as a Person). You could do a search such as "manager attitudes" to see what is being written on that topic and use that information to help you come up with questions to ask. The same strategy could help you refine your topic.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowYou should be able to find articles about any or all the topics covered in your textbook here. Note that if you are looking for articles about managers consider using other terms too. You might do a search like managers OR leaders OR executives OR supervisors. Do not include any other concept in this box when performing the search . That is, put any other concept you wish to rsearch in a seperate box.
The publisher of this database use the term "management" to refer to the subject of management rather than to refer to people who are managers. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis an alternative to Business Source Complete. Because this database covers many disciplines, you will want to use the Subject facet in the left column of the results list to limit the results to business journals.
- APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowGood for topics related to psychology (e.g. emotional intelligence). If you are researching managers you may want to do a search like this managers OR "management personnel" works best when researching managers, Also includes a number of business journals which include research related to management.
Finding Books
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch will help you locate resources in our collections including, books. To find books, just enter keyword(s) related to your topic and select Book / eBook under Content Type in the left hand column of the results list. OneSearch also will help you discover articles related to management topics. You can limit your search to journal articles by selecting Journal Article from the Content Type. There is also a Scholarly & Peer Reviewed limit under "Refine your search" in the left column.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat will help you discover books and other materials in libraries around the world. Once you have found a title that interests you, you may borrow the book using our interlibrary loan service. To borrow a book, click on the title on the results list. Then click on the Request via interlibrary loan link in the book's record. This link can be found in the area near the top of the book record, next to External Resources.
Tip: Before you search, you may wish change the results sort order. You will find this setting next to Rank by in the area below the search boxes, near the bottom of the page.