Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ball State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections internship program is intended for students, both undergraduate and graduate, interested in an immersive experience in an academic archives and special collections department. Interns will have the opportunity to learn about archival theory and practice while working with archives staff to continue to provide access to Ball State University and Muncie and Delaware County history. Archives staff and the intern will work to establish duties and expectations at the beginning of the term, based on the needs of the department and student interest. The Archives and Special Collections internship program is unpaid, however, the internship may be completed for course credits through a department or institution.
Interns in Archives and Special Collections will be working with different formats of material including but not limited to:
Depending on the length of the internship and amount of credit hours earned, interns may be completing tasking in these different areas:
- Born digital files
- Manuscript material (examples: diaries, letters, organizational records, etc.)
- Multiple media formats
Learning Outcomes from an internship in Archives and Special Collections include:
- Describe and process archival collections using Describing Archives: A Content Standard (DACS)
- Develop processing plans
- Develop physical and digital exhibits
- Organize and house material in multiple formats
- Participate in archival instruction session and reference services
- Prepare collections for digitization
Applying for an internship in Archives and Special Collections:
- Apply archival theory and methodology, and basic library practices to unprocessed collections, digital collections, and exhibit material
- Understand the role of an archives and special collections in research and higher education
- Work effectively with archives staff. Understand paths for a career in archival management and various components of archival work: appraisal, acquisition, accession, processing, preservation, access and reference, and outreach and promotion
- To be considered for an internship the following must be submitted to email@example.com
- Cover letter outlining your interest in this particular internship in Archives and Special Collections
- Letter of reference from a faculty member. This can be submitted via email by the faculty member to firstname.lastname@example.org or attached to the candidate’s application.
The application processing includes an in person or Skype interview.