Subject Guide
Chat with us
Questions? Just ask!
BuildingGreen
Biophilic Design from the BuildingGreen Knowledge Base
Includes "Deep Dives" such as this BuildingGreen report on "How to Access the Full Power of Biophilia."
Find links to BuildingGreen and more information on this resource on the University Libraries Databases pages.
eBooks on Biophilia, Sustainability, Interiors, and Design
Biophilic Design ; the theory, science, and practice of bringing buildings to life by
"When nature inspires our architecture-not just how it looks but how buildings and communities actually function-we will have made great strides as a society. Biophilic Design provides us with tremendous insight into the 'why,' then builds us a road map for what is sure to be the next great design journey of our times." -Rick Fedrizzi, President, CEO and Founding Chairman, U.S. Green Building Council "Having seen firsthand in my company the power of biomimicry to stimulate a wellspring of profitable innovation, I can say unequivocably that biophilic design is the real deal. Kellert, Heerwagen, and Mador have compiled the wisdom of world-renowned experts to produce this exquisite book; it is must reading for scientists, philosophers, engineers, architects and designers, and-most especially-businesspeople. Anyone looking for the key to a new type of prosperity that respects the earth should start here." -Ray C. Anderson, founder and Chair, Interface, Inc. The groundbreaking guide to the emerging practice of biophilic design This book offers a paradigm shift in how we design and build our buildings and our communities, one that recognizes that the positive experience of natural systems and processes in our buildings and constructed landscapes is critical to human health, performance, and well-being. Biophilic design is about humanity's place in nature and the natural world's place in human society, where mutuality, respect, and enriching relationships can and should exist at all levels and should emerge as the norm rather than the exception. Written for architects, landscape architects, planners,developers, environmental designers, as well as building owners, Biophilic Design: The Theory, Science, and Practice of Bringing Buildings to Life is a guide to the theory, science, and practice of biophilic design. Twenty-three original and timely essays by world-renowned scientists, designers, and practitioners, including Edward O. Wilson, Howard Frumkin, David Orr, Grant Hildebrand, Stephen Kieran, Tim Beatley, Jonathan Rose, Janine Benyus, Roger Ulrich, Bert Gregory, Robert Berkebile, William Browning, and Vivian Loftness, among others, address: * The basic concepts of biophilia, its expression in the built environment, and how biophilic design connects to human biology, evolution, and development. * The science and benefits of biophilic design on human health, childhood development, healthcare, and more. * The practice of biophilic design-how to implement biophilic design strategies to create buildings that connect people with nature and provide comfortable and productive places for people, in which they can live, work, and study. Biophilic design at any scale-from buildings to cities-begins with a few simple questions: How does the built environment affect the natural environment? How will nature affect human experience and aspiration? Most of all, how can we achieve sustained and reciprocal benefits between the two? This prescient, groundbreaking book provides the answers.
Call Number: Available as an eBookISBN: 9780470163344Publication Date: 2013-04-23
Nature inside : a biophilic design guide by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1003033016Publication Date: 2020-10-09
Sustainability in Interior Design by
The environmental impact of interior architecture and design practice is immense, and this book highlights the need for designers to adapt the way they work and relearn the lessons lost in order to make their designs fully sustainable. Contrary to many preconceptions, sustainable design can be sophisticated and stylish. By its nature, a sustainable approach means considering the whole life cycle of a project, thereby improving the functionality, quality, and human enjoyment and, in the long term, bringing real social and economic benefits. This book is filled with examples and techniques, together with historical and contemporary case studies, all supported by invaluable resources and links. A comprehensive reference book for anyone wanting to work in interior design, this book introduces ideas of sustainability while encouraging and inspiring readers with positive, creative, and practical alternatives.
Call Number: Available as an eBookISBN: 9781780672014Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Environmentally Responsible Design ; green and sustainable design for interior designers by
Environmentally Responsible Design Architecture/Interior Design/General Learn the principles and practice of sustainable interior design Covering everything from theory to current practices, eight leading design educators present the tools and knowledge needed to implement an environmentally responsible approach for any interior design project. It opens with a broad perspective on global sustainability followed by a timeline of human and environmental interactions. This sets the stage for the book's coverage of the day-to-day issues of environmentally responsible interior design, including: Indoor air quality Environmentally responsible lighting design Energy and water issues Evaluation and specification of interior finishes and furnishings United States Green Building Council and LEED certification The author sets forth and examines a variety of essential design standards and philosophies, including LEED-CI, William McDonough's "Cradle to Cradle," Minnesota Sustainable Design Guide, and Energy Star®. The final part of the book is dedicated to two in-depth case studies that demonstrate how the principles and practices discussed in the book have been successfully put into action. Throughout the presentation, detailed illustrations enable you to better understand how environmentally responsible design works. A bibliography at the end of the book leads you to additional resources. Armed with this book as a reference, students and professional interior designers will make sound design decisions that incorporate the principles of sustainability with aesthetics and functional requirements.
Call Number: Available as an eBookISBN: 9781118504482Publication Date: 2012-07-19
Universal Principles of Interior Design : 100 ways to develop innovative ideas, enhance usability, and design effective solutions by
Universal Principles of Interior Design is a concise visual presentation of 100 fundamental elements of interior design.
Call Number: Available as an eBookISBN: 0760372128Publication Date: 2022-01-25
- OneSearchSearch for books, DVDs, building material samples, and other materials in the University Libraries and articles in select databases.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Key database in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. Also covers Archaeology, Decorative Arts, Interior Design, and Furniture. Some linked full text is included.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window Art Index Full Text, a key database for art, provides full text articles from more than 300 titles. Of the 600 titles indexed, 280 are peer reviewed. The database also covers subjects such as interior design, costume design, architecture and landscape architecture. Art Index Full Text indexes titles back to 1984 and contains the full text of articles beginning in 1994.
Keywords to Try
biophilic / biophilia / biomimicry / sustainability / sustainable / organic / environmental aspects / interior design / interiors / interior decoration / interior architecture / architecture / design