Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Dual Credit Students and Faculty

This guide will give you information on how to access the resources the Ball State University Libraries offers to dual credit students and faculty.

Finding Articles

As a Dual Credit student, you have the same access to article databases as do on-campus students.

  • To get started, try a library Database or the OneSearch tool.
  • In rare cases where the article you want is available only in the library's print collection, you may request the article through Interlibrary Loan, and it will be scanned and shared with you on your ILLiad/Interlibrary Loan page.
  • If access to the full text of an article is not available through library databases or collections, you may request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Find Databases

The University Libraries subscribe to databases, which include valuable research materials like academic journal articles. Some databases are specific to certain subject areas, while others include articles or other materials from many subject areas.

  • To access the databases, go to the University Libraries Homepage
  • Scroll down, Select Databases
  • Select a Subject (Art and Dance, Business, Education, History, etc.) to view databases specific to a field of study
  • Or, select a letter to see databases alphabetically by first letter

Search Tips for Databases

Different databases have different features, but here are some general search tips:

  • You may have to run several searches using different keywords before finding the results you need. This is totally normal!
  • Narrow your results - most database results page will have limiters like 'publication date' and 'item type' on the left hand side of the page
  • If your search results include subjects listed under the item title and publication information, use those subjects! Sometimes you will find a new term that you can use as a keyword in your search.

MultiLink

Have you seen this button?

If so, hopefully you have clicked on it! The MultiLink button will appear when the database you are searching does not have the full text of an article, but another BSU database may hold the full text. MultiLink searches all BSU databases for the material you need. It's always worth clicking!

Step 1: Click on MultiLink BSU

Screenshot illustrating step 1, click on MultiLink

 

Step 2: You will be taken to the full text of the article if it is available through the BSU Libraries. Use the sidebar to see basic information about the article or to browse through other articles in the same journal.

Screenshot showing how you can find the link to full text and the sidebar

 

Step 3: If the full text is not available, you may request the article through Interlibrary Loan by clicking on Interlibrary Loan / ILLiad.

Screenshot showing where to click for Interlibrary Loan

Using OneSearch

OneSearch provides a convenient way to access many different library resources at once. You will find results from several library databases, the library catalog, and open access resources online.

  • Find OneSearch on the University Libraries homepage
  • OneSearch is a great tool to use as you begin your research
  • In your research projects, you will benefit from using both OneSearch and databases specific to your topic

Search tips:

  • On the results page, narrow your search using the options in the left-hand menu (including scholarly/peer-reviewed, content type, publication date, and more)
  • Notice the format of any search results that interest you (for example, is the item a book, an article in a scholarly journal, or an article in a magazine?)