Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Dual Credit Students and Faculty

This guide will give you information on how to access the resources the Ball State University Libraries offers to dual credit students and faculty.

Welcome!

Dual credit students at Ball State have access to the full range of library resources we offer, including database access, opportunities to talk with librarians about your research, and even options for checking out books.

To become more familiar with the services offered to you, click on each topic.

When you have questions about using library resources, don't hesitate to contact us! Use our Ask a Librarian options (phone, chat, email) or contact Jim or Brenda directly.

Library Resources for Dual Credit Students and Faculty (Video)

FAQ

I am a dual credit student. How do I get access to library resources?

Can I use library databases?

  • Yes! The vast majority of library databases are available from off-campus with your BSU login.  Just go to the University Libraries homepage, scroll down and select Databases, choose your database by subject area or by name in Databases A-Z. You may also use OneSearch and other library tools off-campus.
  • For details, see Find Articles

Can I get books from the library?

  • Circulating items you find in our collection can be mailed to you. They can also be checked out in person to you with your BSU student ID if you live locally and prefer to come to the library.
  • Remember, any materials you receive will have to be returned to BSU Libraries at your own expense by the due date.
  • For details, see Find Books.

I only need one chapter in a book.  Do I need to request the entire book?

  • You can request individual chapters through Interlibrary Loan by choosing the Book Chapter option under New Request.  Just like a requested article, the chapter will be made available to you as a PDF file. 
  • If the book is owned by the Ball State University Libraries, you may submit a request for the book itself if you are unable to receive the chapter.

I've found an article I need, but full-text is not available.  How can I obtain the article?

  • Databases will display a blue "MultiLink BSU" button that you may select to find out if we own the article electronically through another database.  If no online holdings appear, you can click on the Interlibrary Loan/ILLiad link on the MultiLink page to request the full text.
  • For details, see Find Articles

Does the library have any eBooks I can view remotely?

  • Yes!  To locate them, use OneSearch on the University Libraries homepage. Input your search. On the search results page, narrow the search using the tools on the left. Under Refine Your Search, select Full Text Online. Under Content Type, select Book / eBook.