Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical Studies

This guide will help you find sources about Classical Studies, including the languages, literature, history, and culture of Ancient Greece and Rome.

Articles

Search the University Libraries' databases for articles about your topic. The databases listed on this page were chosen because they contain articles from Classical Studies journals, including scholarly sources. This page also features tips on finding Classical Studies journals in the print collection. 

Encyclopedias, etc.

Reference resources like encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent sources of background information and quick answers. They are particularly helpful when you are researching an unfamiliar topic. The University Libraries own a number of print and online encyclopedias about Classical Studies.

Books

Search for books about Classical Studies topics. Books are helpful as sources of in-depth information on specific topics, as well as overviews of broader topics. OneSearch will help you find books within the University Libraries. WorldCat will help you find and request books from other libraries - free of charge!

Internet Resources

Information about Classical Studies is freely available from a number of websites. This page lists several that Ball State librarians have judged to be reliable and trustworthy, including government resources and many sites published by colleges and universities. 

Languages and Literatures

This page lists resources about Latin and Greek, and literary works from Ancient Greece and Rome. The resources include texts, journals, books, and encyclopedias available at the University Libraries, and reliable sources chosen from the Internet. Many of the libraries' resources on this topic are available online. 

History, Philosophy, and Culture

This page lists resources useful for researching the history, culture, and philosophy of the Ancient Greeks and Romans. The resources include books, encyclopedias, and journals available at the University Libraries, and reliable sources chosen from the Internet. Many of the libraries' resources on this topic are available online. 

Related Subject Guides

The University Libraries maintain subject guides on a number of subjects related to Classical Studies, such as mythology and world history. Depending on your topic, you might find useful resources on these guides as well. 

OneSearch

‚ÄčOneSearch is a good place to begin searching for sources on an unfamiliar topic. Simultaneously search books, e-books, articles and journals from multiple databases, encyclopedias, and other digital collections. OneSearch can also be helpful if you have had trouble finding sources elsewhere.