Subject Guide
Questions? Just ask!
- OneSearchSearch for books, DVDs, building material samples, and other materials in the University Libraries and articles in select databases.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles in architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, historic preservation, construction management, and interior design.
- More Article DatabasesBuildingGreen, JSTOR, America: History & Life, and more.
- Architecture Images Collection
The Architecture Images Collection consists of digitized images of 35mm slides from the Architecture Library's David R. Hermansen Slide Collection. The images were photographed by Prof. Hermansen and others on study trips to sites all over the world, the United States, and Indiana. Image subjects include buildings, landscapes, street scenes, interiors, and other features of the built environment. In the University Libraries Digital Media Repository (DMR). - Architecture Images Teaching Collection
The Architecture Images Teaching Collection consists of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, and urban planning images for use by Ball State students and instructors in lectures and class projects. The collection is composed of high quality digital images purchased from vendors and digitized images of select 35mm slides in the Architecture Library’s slide collection. In the University Libraries Digital Media Repository (DMR). [Ball State username and password required]
Accessing Reading Lists (Course Reserves)
- Books and DVDs on reserve in the Architecture LibraryBooks and DVDs on course reserve (Reading Lists) in the Architecture Library are in the first row of the library stacks. Look for the signs with your course number and instructor's name.
- Reading Lists and E-reservesLogin to Reading Lists with your Ball State username and password when prompted to access e-reserves and see a list of everything on course reserve for a class.
Videos
- Architecture Library DVDs in OneSearchAsk for DVDs at the Architecture Library Circulation Desk.
- Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries and educational videos. Browse architecture videos by subject or search by keywords such as: cities, landscape architecture, historic preservation.
- OnArchitecture This link opens in a new windowVideo tours of buildings around the world and interviews with architects.
- Art and Architecture Video Online (North America) This link opens in a new window Art and Architecture in Video is a database with more than 500 hours of documentaries and interviews related to modern and contemporary architecture as well as other periods. The videos include searchable transcripts and tables of contents which allow easy access to specific points in the streaming video.
