Pencils, notebooks, laptops, tablets, cameras and camera phones are all welcome in the Archives and Special Collections Reading Room.
Please leave jackets, bags, laptop cases, folders, pens, food (including gum and hard candy) and drinks in a designated area.
Before you arrive:
When you arrive:
When you get home:
When in doubt sent us an email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Due to an abundance of caution surrounding COVID-19, Archives and Special Collections will be open by appointment only Monday through Friday until further notice. Please contact email@example.com to schedule an appointment. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your patience during this time. Online resources will continue to be available to all users through the Digital Media Repository, Cardinal Scholar and our Collections Database.
Ball State University Libraries Archives & Special Collections acquires, preserves, and provides access to rare and unique primary sources and archival material that support the research and instructional needs of students, faculty, national and international scholars, and the general public.
Archives and Special Collections is open to the Ball State university community and the public.
If you wish to contact us in advance of your visit via email at firstname.lastname@example.org we can better assist in discussing your research and the collections that are of interest.
Our Reading Room is located on the 2nd floor of Bracken Library.
We are open Monday – Friday, 8:00 am 6:00 pm during the academic year.
We strongly recommend that you contact us in advance of your visit, especially during the academic year, when we sometimes have scheduled class visits in our reading room.
During the summer, we are open Monday – Friday 7:30 am to 4:30 pm
During spring and winter break, we are open Monday-Friday 8 am to 5pm
Additional Bracken Library hours information can be found here: https://www.bsu.edu/academics/libraries/visit-study/hours
The Drawings + Documents Archive is located in the Architecture Building, first floor, Room AB120.
During the semester, we are open Monday-Thursday from 8am to 5pm and Friday by Appointment Only.
Summer Hours are by Appointment Only.
For parking information please visit Ball State University Parking Services https://www.bsu.edu/about/administrativeoffices/parking-services
We recommended parking in the McKinley Parking garage.
To ensure the wellbeing of our collection for future generations to access, we ask that researchers abide by the following guidelines.
Reading Room Guidelines
Care and Handling of Archives and Special Collections Material
Photocopying and Digitization Services
Reading Room privileges may be limited or withdrawn for failure to comply with this protocol.