LibGuides: COMM 351 Organizational Communication: Home

Introduction

Welcome to COMM 351 Organizational Communication!

University Libraries

Ball State University Libraries
Access OneSearch, Databases, Research Guides, and other resources and services.
Ask a Librarian
Contact a librarian via chat, phone, e-mail, in-person, or schedule a reference appointment.
Interlibrary Loan
Request a book, article, or another item not available at Ball State University Libraries.

The Impact of technology on workplace communication

OneSearch
Cross searches the Libraries' catalog and much of the content of our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.

Description: OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Time Period: 1600 to Present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Government Documents, Journal Articles, Books
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Complete
Indexes more than 13,500 journals in various (Business, Education, Health, Humanities,News, Psychology, Technology, etc.) subject areas. *Select "Choose Databases" to access other Ebsco databases.

Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 16,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
MultiLink: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Business Source Complete
Indexes more than 6,100 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports in the fields of business, finance, management, marketing and computer science) as well as Company Profiles.

Description: Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Time Period: 1886 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
MultiLink: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Indexes more than 620 Technology (Communication, Journalism, Mass Media) publications.

Description: Indexes research in the field of communication, mass media and related fields. Created by merging and expanding two previous databases: CommSearch
(formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State).
Time Period: 1915 to present
Sources: Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for 620 publications and the full text of more than 500. An additional 200 titles have selected indexing.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences, Technology (Communication, Journalism, Mass Media)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Training/learning techniques for adult learners

Academic Search Complete
Indexes more than 13,500 journals in various (Business, Education, Health, Humanities,News, Psychology, Technology, etc.) subject areas.

Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 16,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
MultiLink: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Significant database in the field of education; indexes articles from more than 1000 semi-scholarly journals and educational reports.

Description: ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.
Time Period: 1966-present
Sources: Indexes more than 650 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, English & Linguistics, Mobile, Music
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Grey Literature, Journal Articles, Reference Resources, Report
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations
MultiLink:
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: U.S. Department of Education
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators. Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 educational journals and more than 200 educational reports.

Description: Professional Development Collection provides indexing and access to education journals geared towards education professionals.
Time Period: 1965 to present
Sources: Indexes roughly 700 journals.
Subject Headings: Education
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text
MultiLink: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Teacher Reference Center
Indexes more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Description: Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Time Period: 1984 to present
Sources: over 270 titles
Subject Headings: Education, Mobile (education)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Education Journals and Magazines
Information Included: Citations, abstracts, and some full-text
MultiLink: Yes
Print Equivalent: none
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates:
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited