Profile
James Shimkus
Contact:
Ball State University Libraries
Bracken Library, BL 102
Bracken Library, BL 102
Introduction
Welcome to SOC 221 Introduction to Race and Ethnic Relations
Please contact me (jsshimkus@bsu.edu) for research assistance.
Library Services
-
University LibrariesThe main page for the Ball State University Libraries.
-
Ask a LibrarianContact a librarian by chat, phone, email, in-person or schedule a reference appointment.
-
Interlibrary LoanRequest a book, full text articles, or another item not available in the Ball State University Libraries.
Demographics
-
Demographic YearbookThe Demographic Yearbook is an international compendium of national demographic statistics provided by national statistical authorities to the Statistics Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs.
-
Population and Vital Statistics ReportThe Population and Vital Statistics Report presents most recent data on population size (total, male and female) from the latest available census of the population, national official population estimates and the number and rate (births, deaths and infant deaths) for the latest available year within the past 15 years.
-
ProQuest statistical abstract of the United StatesCall Number: General Collection HA202 .A3 2017Publication Date: 2017
-
Statistical Abstract SeriesThe Statistical Abstract Series (1878 - 2012) is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Databases
-
Academic Search CompleteGood database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 16,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
-
America: History & LifeKey database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 19th century to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
-
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Historical Abstracts indexes articles that cover world history from the 15th century forward, including military history, women's history, and the history of education. The database includes some linked full text and searches can be limited to articles about a specified historical period.
-
Social Sciences Full TextSocial Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals. Indexes more than 700 peer reviewed journals.
-
Sociological AbstractsKey database for sociology and related fields such as social work, and women and gender studies. Abstracts Only.
-
JSTORJSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.