Musical Instruments

Search Oxford Music Online (Specify Grove Music Online to search articles from The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments)

• All Things Strings: An Illustrated Dictionary, by Jo Nardiolillo
  ML108 .N373 2014
• New Grove Violin Family, by David Boyden
  ML750 .N48 1989
• The Science of String Instruments, by Thomas Rossing
  ML3805 .S35 2010

The Strad magazine: 

• 1995- Present:Online Access(Log-in Required Off-Campus)
• 1979-2015 Print Copies. Bound volumes on 2nd Floor; Latest Issues in Current Periodicals, 1st Floor

Repertoire for Strings

• String Music in Print, 2nd ed
• ML128 .S7 F4 1973 (Music Collection Reference)
• String Music of Black Composers
  ML128 .B45 H7 1991

Online Resources

• Strings Magazine
• American String Teachers Association

Violin article in Grove Music Online (log in required from off campus)

Reference (Subject Search: Violin--Bibliography)

• The Violin: A Research and Information Guide, by Mark Katz
  ML128 .V4 K38 2006
• "Violin" in Grove Music Online (log-in required from off-campus)

Violin History (Subject Search: Violin--History)

• Schoenbaum, David. The Violin: A Social History of the World's Most Versatile Instrument
  ML800 .S326 2013
• The History of Violin Playing, from its Origins to 1761 and its
  Relationship to the Violin and Violin Music, by David Boyden
  ML850 .B6
• The Amadeus Book of the Violin: Construction, History, and Music,
  by Walter Kolneder
  ML800 .K6413 1998
• The Cambridge Companion to the Violin, edited by Robin Stowell
  ML800 .C35 1992
• Before the Chinrest: A Violinist's Guide to the Mysteries of
  Pre-Chinrest Technique and Style, by Stanley Ritchie
  ML850 .R57 2012
• Violins of Hope: Violins of the Holocaust, by James A. Grymes
  ML398 .G827 2014

Violin Playing (Subject Search:  Violin--Instruction and Study or Violin--Performance)

Violinists (Subject Search:  Violinists--Biography)

• Violin Virtuosos: From Paganini to the 21st Century, by Henry Roth
  ML398 .R69 1997
• Paganini: The 'Demonic' Virtuoso, by Mai Kawabata
  ML418 .P2 K39 2013
• Amico: The Life of Giovanni Battista Viotta, by Warwick Lister
  ML410 .V79 L57 2009
• Michael Rabin: America's Virtuoso Violinist, by Anthony Feinstein
  ML418 .R113 F44 2005
• Efrem Zimbalist: A Life, by Roy Malan
  ML418 .Z94 M3 2004
• Heifetz as I Knew Him, by Ayke Agus
  ML418 .H44 A48 2001

Violin Repertoire (Subject Search: Violin Music--History and Criticism)

• The Canon of Violin Literature: A Performer's Resource, by Jo Nardolillo
  ML128 .V4 N37 2011 (Music Collection Reference)

DVDs (Education, Music and Media Service Counter)

• The Heifetz Master Class at the University of Southern California
  DVD Video 9330
• The Art of Violin
  DVD Video 9460

Viola article in Grove Music Online  (Log-in required from off-campus)

Books About Viola & Viola Literature

• A History of the Viola, by Maurice Riley
  ML900 .R43 (2 volumes)
• The Early Violin and Viola: A Practical Guide, by Robin Stowell
  ML855 .S79 2001
• The Viola: Complete Guide for Teachers and Students, by Henry Barrett, 2nd. rev. ed.
  MT280 .B37 1978

Viola Literature (Subject Search: Viola Music--Bibliography)

• String Syllabus, Vol. 1: Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass, Alternative Styles, by David Littrell, 2nd ed.
  ML132 .V4 S8 2009 -- Music Collection Reference
• Viola Syllabus, by the Royal Conservatory of Music, 1994 edition
  ML132 .V36 R69 1994 -- Music Collection Reference
• Music for Viola, by Michael D. Williams
  ML128 .V36 W53
• The Index of Viola Music, by Wayne Wilkins
  ML128 .V36 W5
• Literatur für VIola, by Franz Zeyringer
  ML128 .V36 Z5 1976

Technique  (Subject Search:  Viola -- Studies and Exercises)

• Modern Viola Technique, by Robert Dolejší
  ​MT285 .D64 (Oversize)
• Playing the Viola: Conversations with William Primrose, by David Dalton
  MT280 .D34 1988

DVD: Master Class

• Yuri Bashmet: Playing and Teaching the Viola (1990)
  DVD 12371 (Education, Music and Media Service Counter)

Violoncello article in Grove Music Online (Log-in required from off-campus)

• The Cambridge Companion to the Cello, by Robin Stowell
  ML910 .C36 1999
• The Cello, 2nd ed. by Elizabeth Cowling
  ML910 .C7 1983

Cello Repertoire (Subject Search:  Cello Music--Bibliography)

• Cello Music Since 1960, by Donald Homuth
  ML128 .V5 H66 1994 (Music Collection Reference)
• The Solo Cello, by Dimitry Markevitch
  ML128 .V5 M28 1989 (Music Collection Reference)
• Cello Syllabus
  ML132 .V5 R69 1995 (Music Collection Reference)

Cello Technique (Subject Search: Cello Performance or
          Cello -- Studies and Exercises)

• Playing the Cello, 1780-1930, by George Kennaway
  ML915 .K44 2014
• Violoncello Technique, by Mark Yampolsky
  MT305 .Y36 V5 1985
• An Organized Method of String Playing: Violoncello Exercises for the Left Hand, by Janos Starker
  MT308 .S7 O7 1965

Cellists   (Subject Search: Cellists -- Biography)

• The Great Cellists, by Margaret Campbell
  ML398 .C33 1989
• Pablo Casals, by Robert Baldock
  ML418 .C4 B28 1993
• Pierre Fournier: Cellist in a Landscape with Figures
  ML418 .F814 H84 1998
• Rostropovich: The Musical Life of the Great Cellist, Teacher, and
  Legend, by Elizabeth Wilson
  ML418 .R77 W55 2008

DVDs (Education, Music and Media Service Counter)

• Cello Master Class with Bernard Greenhouse
  DVD Video 11706 (volume 1)
  DVD Video 11707 (volume 2)
• Making Music with William Pleeth: Eight Cello Lessons
  at the Britten-Pears School
  DVD Video 9578 (8 vols.)

Double Bass article in Grove Music Online (log in required from off campus)

Subject Search:  Double Bass

• More About the Double Bass, by Raymond Elgar
  ML920 .E42 1987
• A History of the Double Bass, by Paul Brun
  ML920 .B7813 1989
• Bass World (Magazine of the International Society of Bassists)
  1996-2005 (Second Floor West)

Technique  (Subject Search:  Double bass--Instruction and study)

• A Double Bassist's Guide to Refining Performance Practices, by Murray Grodner
  MT320 .G76 2013
• The Contemporary Contrabass, by Bertram Turetzky
  MT320 .T87 1989
• The Bass Viol in French Baroque Chamber Music
  ML760 .V565 S2

Online Resources

• International Society of Bassists

Harp (Subject Search: Harp--History)

• Harps and Harpist, 2nd rev. ed., by Roslyn Rensch
  ML1005 .R43 2007
• The Harp in the Orchestra, by Beatrice Rose
  MT540 .R67 2002
• Harp Music Bibliography: Compositions for Solo Harp and Harp Ensemble by Mark Palkovic
  ML128 .H3 P35 1995 (Music Collection Reference)
• Harp article in Grove Music Online (log in required from off campus

Harp -- Online Resources

• American Harp Society
• Historical Harp Society
• International Harp Museum, Orlando, Florida
• International Society of Folk Harpers and Craftsmen
• World Harp Congress (every three years)

Guitar History (Subject Search: Guitar--History)

• The Guitar and Its Music: From the Renaissance to the Classical Era
  ML1015 .G9 T96 2002
• The Guitar: The History, the Music, the Players
  ML1015 .G9 G845 1984b
• The Classical Guitar: Its Evolution and its Players Since 1800, by Maurice Summerfield
  ML399 .S88 1991
• Guitar article in Grove Music Online (log in required from off campus)

Guitar Literature

• Guitar Syllabus, by the Royal Conservatory of Music, 2nd ed.
  ML132 .G8 R69 1997 (Music Collection Reference)
• Guitar Music by Women Composers, by Janna MacAuslan
  ML128 .G8 M33 1997 (Music Collection Reference)
• Classical Guitar Music in Print, 2nd ed.
  ML128 .G8 J36 1989 (Music Collection Reference)
• Classical Guitar Music in Printed Collections
  https://guitarmusicincollections.com/

Guitar Performance (Subject Search