Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Musical Instruments

Specialized information for performers of musical instruments.

Oboe & English Horn

Search RILM Abstracts of Music Literature for Oboe as a subject (Log-in required from off-campus)

Oboe article in Grove Music Online (Log-in required from off-campus)

Reed-Making (Subject Search: Oboe Reeds)

  • Anderson, Valarie.  Gouge, Shape, and Scrape:
    A Complete Guide to the Oboe Reed
    ML941 .A53 2009
  • Ledet, David.  Oboe Reed Styles: Theory and Practice (1981)
    ML941 .L4 
  • Light, Jay.  The Oboe Reed Book (1983)
    ML941 .L53 1983

Technique  (Subject Search: Oboe -- Instruction and Study)

  • Oboe Secrets:  75 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Oboist and English Horn Player, by Jacqueline Leclair.
    MT360 .L43 2013
  • Rothwell, Evelyn.  Oboe Technique, 3rd ed.
    MT360 .R8 1982
  • Schuring, Martin.  Oboe: Art & Method
    MT360 .S38 2009
  • Van Cleve, Libby.  Oboe Unbound: Contemporary Techniques, rev. ed.
    MT360 .V35 2014

English Horn 

English Horn: articles in English via RILM (Log-in required from off-campus)

  • Soloistic English Horn Literature from 1736-1984, by William Wallace McMullen 
    MT128 .O2 M3 1994  (Music Collection Reference)
  • Oboe Secrets:  75 Performance Strategies for the
    Advanced Oboist and English Horn Player, by Jacqueline Leclair
    MT360 .L43 2013

May, 2019

Flute & Piccolo

Flute article in Grove Music Online (Log in required from off campus)

Reference Books in the Music Collection

  • A Dictionary for the Modern Flutist, by Susan Maclagan
    ML102 .F58 M33 2009
  • Repertoire Catalogue: Piccolo, Alto Flute, Bass Flute, by Peter van Munster
    ML128 .F7 M86 2004
  • A Handbook of Literature for the Flute, rev. ed., by James Pellerite.
    ML128 .F7 P4 1965
  • Flute Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog, by Heidi Boenke
    ML128 .F7 B6 1988
  • Flute Music of the 18th Century: An Annotated Bibliography by Frans Vester
    ML128 .F7 V46 1985
  • A Guidebook to Flute Choir Literature, by Carol Noe
    ML128 .F7 N64 1996
  • Flute Syllabus: The Royal Conservatory of Music
    Official Examination Syllabus (1992 ed.)
    ML132 .F7 R3 1992

Books About the Flute & Piccolo

Flute Technique (Subject Search: Flute--Instruction and Study)

  • The Flutist's Handbook: A Pedagogy Anthology,
    by the National Flute Association
    MT340 .F59 1998
  • Flute for Dummies, by Karen Moratz
    MT348 .M64 2010
  • Flute Technique, by Gareth Morris
    MT340 .M73 1991
  • The French Flute School, 1860-1950, by Claude Dorgeuille
    ML937 .D67 1986
  • The Pedagogical Techniques and Methods of Flutist
    William Montgomery, by Linda Kirkpatrick
    MT340 .K57 2006
  • Alternative Fingerings for the Flute, by Néstor Herszbaum​
    MT340 .H47 2003
  • Orchestral Techniques for Flute and Piccolo: An Audition Guide, by Walfrid Kujala
    MT346 .K85 2006
  • Bel Canto Flute: The Rampal School
    MT342 .C64 2003
  • Circular Breathing for the Flutist, by Robert Dick
    MT342 .D496 1987
  • The Other Flute: A Performance Manual of
    Contemporary Techniques, by Robert Dick
     MT340 .D52 O8 1975
  • The Complete Piccolo: A Comprehensive Guide to Fingerings,
    Repertoire and History, edited by Jan Gippo
     
  • ML935 .G57 2009

 

May, 2019

Clarinet

Clarinet article in Grove Music Online (log in required from off campus)

Books (Subject Search: Clarinet)

Technique (Subject Search: Clarinet--Instruction and Study)

Bass Clarinet

Online Resources

May, 2019

Saxophone

Saxophone article in the Grove Music Online (Log-in required from off-campus)

Saxophone article in the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (Log-in required from off-campus)

Books About the Saxophone

Playing the Saxophone (Subject Search: Saxophone -- Instruction and Study)

  • The Saxophone Handbook: A Complete Guide to Tone, Technique, 
    Performance, & Maintenance, by Douglas Skinner
    MT500 .S628 2013
  • How to Play Saxophone, by John Brown
    MT500 .B76 1994
  • Saxophone Sound Effects: Circular Breathing, Multiphonics, Altissimo Register Playing, and Much More! by Ueli Dðrig
    MT505 .D67 2012
  • Preparatory Method for Saxophone, vol. 1, by George Wolfe
    MT505 .W65 P7 1986

Saxophone Repertoire

  • 150 Years of Music for Saxophone, by Jean-Marie Londeix
    ML128 .S247 L64 1994 (Music Collection Reference)

Jazz Saxophone

John Coltrane (Subject Search: Coltrane, John, 1926-1967)

Charlie Parker:  

Randy Brecker:

Sonny Rollins:

May, 2019

Bassoon

"Bassoon" article in Grove Music Online, by WIlliam Waterhouse. (Log-in required from off-campus)

Books about the Bassoon

Bassoon Repertoire

  • Music for Unaccompanied Solo on: An Annotated Bibliography, by John Beebe
    ML128 .B26 B43 (Music Collection Reference)
  • The Paris Conservatoire and the Contest Solos for Bassoon
    ML128 .B26 F6 1988

Bassoon Reed Making

  • Bassoon Red Making: A Pedagogic History, by Christin Schillinger
    ML951 .S35 2016
  • Bassoon Reed Making Including Bassoon Repair, Maintenance, and
    Adjustment, and an Approach to Bassoon Playing
     ML951 .P66

Bassoon Technique
(Subject Search:  Bassoon--Study and Teaching or Bassoon--Methods)

  • The Art of Bassoon Playing, 2nd ed., by William Spencer
    MT400 .S74 1969
  • Essentials of Bassoon Technique, by Lewis Hugh Cooper and Howard Toplansky
    MT400 .C66 1968
  • Primary Handbook for Bassoon, by Richard Polonchak
    MT402 .P64 P71

May, 2019

Historical Woodwind Instruments

Selected Books

  • 4900 Historical Woodwind Instruments: An Inventory of
    200 Makers in Internaitonal Collections, by Phillip Young
    ML931 .Y68 1993
  • From Renaissance to Baroque: Change in Instruments and
    Instrumental Music in the Seventeenth Century, by the National
    Early Music Association Conference
    ML467 .N18 2005
  • Baroque Woodwind Instruments: A Guide to their History, Repertoire, and
    Basic Technique, by Paul Carroll
    ML931 .C37 1999

Flute

  • The Flute: A Study of Its History, Development and
    Construction, by Philip Bate
    ML935 .B25
  • On Playing the Flute, by Johann Quantz, trans. Reilly, 2nd ed.
    MT342 .Q313 2001
  • Michel Corrette and Flute-Playing in the Eighteenth Century, by Carol Reglin Farrar
    MT342 .C813
  • The Keyed Flute, by Johann Tromlitz, tran. Ardal Powell
    MT342 .T7313 1996

Oboe

  • The Oboe, by Geoffrey Burgess and Bruce Haynes
    ML940 .B87 2004
  • The Oboe: An Outline of its History, Development, and
    Construction, 3rd ed. by Philip Bate
    ML940 .B37 1975

Bassoon

Recorder

  • Recorder article from Grove Music Online
  • American Recorder Society site
  • Recorder Technique, by Anthony Rowland-Jones
    MT340 .R67 1969

May, 2019

Woodwind Instruments to Check Out

The Educational Technology and Resources Collection has musical instruments
that you can check out.  

Didgeridoo (Australia):  UDC 4137

Zurna (Turkey): UDC 570