Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Research the History of Your House: Drawings + Documents Archive

A guide to help homeowners research the history of their home.

Drawings + Documents Archive Collections

You will find thousands of architectural drawings and photographs pertaining to the history of Indiana's bridges at the Drawings + Documents Archive. All of the photographs and some of the drawings have been digitized and made available online, however, most of the drawings are accessible by visiting the archives. To get the most out of your research visit, you may want to utilize the resources available on our website. There you will find finding aids for the collections and instructions on how to order scans of the drawings and photographs.

Online Collections

You will find hundreds of bridge images and drawings online in the University Libraries’ Digital Media Repository.

Bridge collections available online:

Indiana Bridge Company Collection

The Drawings and Documents Archive maintains a number of collections related to Indiana bridges. Most notably, we have the records and drawings from the Indiana Bridge Company, established in Muncie, Indiana, in 1886. The Indiana Bridge Company became the most important fabricator of iron and steel structures in the Midwest region and built their bridges all over the state of Indiana. The company expanded its business beyond the borders of Indiana by 1890, and by 1896 it had clients as far away as Texas. The archival collection contains thousands of drawings for projects from 1886 to 1922. Currently, all of the stock drawings in the collection are available online, but specific bridge drawings have not been digitized. Consult the archivist to access these drawings.

Through Baltimore Truss Bridge blueprint, ca. 1890. Indiana Bridge Company Collection, Drawings + Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries.

https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/INBrdgCmp

Wayne M. Weber Architectural Collection and Photographs

 

Wayne M. Weber, FAIA (1905-1984), was an architect professionally and also an accomplished photographer. In 1957, he began to systematically document the covered bridges in Indiana and published Covered Bridges in Indiana (1977) and The Covered Bridges of Parke County, Indiana (1980).

 

Bridgeton Bridge over Big Raccoon Creek, Parke County, Indiana. Bridge built 1868, photographed 1970s.

 

Subject Guide

Rebecca Torsell's picture
Rebecca Torsell
Contact:
Architecture Building Room 120
(765) 285-8441
Website

Alvin W. Holmes Covered Bridge Photographs

 

Walkerville Bridge (also known as Vine Street Bridge) over the Little Blue River, Shelby County, built 1892, photograph by Alvin W. Holmes, 1941 Alvin W. Holmes Covered Bridge Collection

Pendleton Historical Museum Collection

Interurban and buggy bridges over Falls Creek at Pendleton Avenue in Pendleton, Indiana, ca. 1909. Pendleton Historical Museum Collection