Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Research the History of Your House: Citing Archival Architectural Resources

A guide to help homeowners research the history of their home.

Citing Sources

When using archival resources for your paper or project, you must cite the  items you access. The purpose of citation is to guide your reader to the source of the information you discuss.

Remember that it is always best to provide more information than less!

Don’t hesitate to ask a Librarian, Archivist, or your Professor for advice.

 

Essential Ingredients

For citing archival resources, there isn’t a perfect method to accommodate all types of materials and every archive. However, much like a recipe, there are the essential ingredients that go into a citation. You will find all of this necessary information located in the catalog record or on the drawing itself:

1. Author or architect's name

2. Name of the building

3. Date it was created

4. If published, publication information

5. Collection name

6. Box and folder numbers, if applicable

7.  Repository. That's us, the Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries.

 

Citing Architectural Records in footnotes and endnotes

Citing the source requires the following components, in order: name of building (location of building), date, collection, and repository. 

As an example, if you would like to cite the Ball Memorial Hospital drawings note the pertinent information when you're looking at the drawings. The name, location, and date can be found in the title block of the drawings, typically on the lower left hand side.

Name of the building: Ball Memorial Hospital

Location: Muncie, Ind.

Date of the drawings: 1925-1930

Collection name: Kibele and Garrard Architectural Records Collection

Name of the repository: Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries.

The citation should appear as:

Ball Memorial Hospital (Muncie, Ind.), 1925-1930, Kibele and Garrard Architectural Records Collection, Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries.

 

To add a reference URL for images you accessed online:

If you have accessed the document online through the Digital Media Repository, you should add “Available at” and the reference URL, which is found by clicking on “reference URL” at the top of the image. The reference URL will pop up in another window. For example:

D. McWorkman first floor plan (Indianapolis, Ind.), 1929, Pierre and Wright Architectural Records Collection Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries. Available at https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/ collection/PieWri/id/1256

 

Citing Photographs

Citing the source for photographs requires the following components, in order: title of photograph (location), date, format, collection, repository.

For example:

O.C. Catterlin house (Indianapolis, Ind.), 1952, photograph, Fran E. Schroeder Architectural Records Collection, Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries.

If you have accessed the photograph online through the Digital Media Repository, you should add “Available at” and the reference URL, which is found by clicking on “reference URL” at the top of the image. The reference URL will pop up in another window. For example:

Patricia Dodd house (Indianapolis, Ind.), 1950s, Pierre and Wright Architectural Records Collection Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries. Available at https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/PieWri/id/741

 

Citing sources in a bibliography

Alphabetize your sources by the name of the collection or name of the architect. If you have cited specific documents in your footnotes, then you will not need to duplicate the citation and you can list only the collection name and location. You may include the type of item cited (architectural drawing, scrapbook, photograph) following the collection. Note that periods replace commas between elements in the bibliographic citation. For example:

Kibele and Garrard Architectural Records Collection. Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries.

Samuel G. Bartel Architectural Records Collection. Architectural drawings. Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries.

Pierre and Wright Architectural Records Collection. Scrapbook. Drawings and Documents Archive, Ball State University Libraries.

 

Subject Guide

Rebecca Torsell's picture
Rebecca Torsell
Contact:
Architecture Building Room 120
(765) 285-8441
Website