It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing 404 Community Health
Resources for the Global Health Watch Project, Population Focused Project, and the White Paper Assignment.
Reliable information about countries and their populations. Scroll down and select a country where it says Explore Countries. Then scroll down and select People and Society from the box in the left column. See the links to country comparisons below the information about the people (e.g. Median Age). International rankings are provided for various data including infant mortality, life expectancy, and health expenditures. Also see the Geography tab for information about the environment.
The World Health Statistics annual statistics provides statistical information about many health related issues including, AIDS prevalence, contraceptive use, life expectancy, infectious diseases, health services, risk factors, etc. This information can provide a basis for comparison to determine what problems a country has.
Scroll down to the GHO Themes for interactive charts highligting country data on issues such as child health, diseases, morbidity, life expectancy, and health workforce. For country information see the Country Statistics link in the left column. Additional information can be found by clicking on the Countries tab at the top of the page.
Provides recommendations for decision-makers and stakeholders, with the aim of maximizing the positive health effects.
Determinants of Health and Interventions
Articles will help you discuss the relationship between the determinants of health and health issues, identify interventions being implemented, and analyzing the political, economic, environmental, and cultural factors.
Indexes public affairs journals. Combine a country name with an issue to identify articles which can be found using MultiLink.
Description: Key database for the field of political science and public policy issues. Includes PAIS Archives 1914-1976. Time Period: 1914 to present Sources: Indexes more than 3,800 journals. Subject Headings: History, Law, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Political Science) Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Journal Articles Information Included:Abstracts, Citations, Full Text MultiLink: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Updates: Monthly Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Find articles which describe medical issues in countries around the world.
Description:MEDLINE, created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, is the premier index of medical journal articles. This version of the databases has linked full text and MultiLink, a technology which will help users locate the text of articles when it isn't available in MEDLINE. The advanced search allows users to place a wide range of limits on their searches including limiting results to EBM reviews. Time Period: 1946 to present Sources: Indexes more than 5,200 journals. Subject Headings: Health, Mobile, Psychology, Science, Technology (Biomedicine, Life Science) Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations MultiLink: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: National Library of Medicine Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Combine a your country name with a keyword related to the issue.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 16,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites. Time Period: 1911 to present Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700. Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations MultiLink: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: EBSCO Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Search newspapers from many nations around the world. Search your nation's newspapers using the problem you are studying as keywords.
Description: Articles from 1,000's of newspapers around the world. Provides full text access to many local and regional newspapers in the U.S. Also contains magazine articles, transcripts, videos, and other sources. Time Period: 1977 to present Sources: Contains articles from 3,200 sources including newspapers, blogs, and magazines. Subject Headings: General, News Scholarly or Popular: Popular Primary Materials: Audio, Citations, Magazine Articles, News, Reviews, Trade Publications, Transcripts, Videos Information Included: Full Text,Citations MultiLink: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: NewsBank Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Search newspapers from around the world using your nation's name and your research issue as keywords.
Description: Nexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states. Also contains legal resources for Canada and the EU. Time Period: 18th century to present Sources: Searches more than 15,000 sources. Subject Headings: Business, General, Law, News, Social Sciences Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Legal Materials, Magazine Articles, News, Reference Resources, Report, Transcripts Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations MultiLink: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Lexis Nexis Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited