Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Education

Resources for undergraduates and graduate students pursuing degrees in Music Education.

Reference Books Available Online

Oxford Music Online
Includes online versions of these books in the music collection:

  • Grove Music (The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed.) 
  • The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed.
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Music
  • The Oxford Companion to Music

Gale Virtual Reference Library includes an online version of Baker's Biographical Dictionary.

Music Education: Navigating the Future, edited by Clint Randles (2015)

Basic Books

Books on Music Education are usually shelved according to the Library of Congress numbering system, beginning with the letters "MT." Unless oversized or in the Reference area, MT books are shelved in the Music Collection, Ranges 33-35.  The basic subject heading for music education is Music--Instruction and Study.

  • Encyclopedia of Research Design, edited by Neil J. Salkind
    HA29 .E49 2010, 3 vols.
    ** Located in the main Reference area of Bracken Library, First Floor - West.
  • Teaching General Music: Approaches, Issues, and Viewpoints, edited by Carlos R. Abril
    MT1 .T33 2016
  • Critical Issues in Music Education: Contemporary Theory and Practice by Abeles, Harold F., ed.
    MT1 .C835 2010
  • Diverse Methodologies in the Study of Music Teaching and Learning by Linda K. Thompson
    MT1 .D58 2008
  • Issues of Identity in Music Education: Narratives and Practices, by Linda K. Thompson
    MT1 .I85 2010
  • The Oxford Handbook of Music Education, 2 vols, edited by Gary E. McPherson and Graham F. Welch
    MT1 .O93 2012 vols. 1-2
  • A Guide to Research in Music Education by Roger P. Phelps (a.k.a. "The Purple Book")
    MT1 .P5 2005
  • Exploring Research in Music Education and Music Therapy by Phillips, Kenneth A.
    MT1 .P5116 2008
  • Research Perspectives: Thought and Practice in Music Education by Linda K. Thompson,
    MT1 .R511 2009
    Assessment in Music Education, by Martin Fautley
  • MT1 .F36 2010

Music Educators National Conference Handbooks

  • MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning, 2 volumes, edited by Richard by Colwell
    MT1 .M444 2011 vols. 1-2
  • MENC Handbook of Research Methodologies, edited by Richard Colwell
    MT1 .M427 2006
  • MENC Handbook of Musical Cognition and Development, edited by Richard Colwell
    MT1 .M98736 2006