Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music History

Resources for courses and research in music history

Reference Books for Music History

The Music Collection has hundreds of valuable reference books about music.  They are located along the wall next to the New Music Books table  Ball State Libraries use Library of Congress call numbers for most books. The following call numbers are the main categories in the Reference area:

ML 100s:  Dictionaries and Encyclopedias about Music

ML 113:  Bibliographies of Music and Music Literature

ML 128:  Bibliographies about Specific Topics in Music

ML 134:  Bibliographies about Individual Composers (including catalogs of their music)

ML 156.4:  Discographies (lists of recordings)


Bibliographies of Music Research Sources

Duckles, Vincent. Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography, 4th ed., rev.

Sampsel, Laurie. Music Research: A Handbook

Scott, Allen and Phillip D. Crabtree. Sourcebook for Research in Music

Steib, Murray. Reader's Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism

Important Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians

Randel, Don Michael. The Harvard Dictionary of Music, 4th edition

Floyd, Samuel A., ed. International Dictionary of Black Composers, 2 vols.