Librarian Profile
Kevin Brooks
Contact:
kbrooks2@bsu.edu
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
Foundational Sciences Library (FB141) &
Health Library (HB101)
765-285-1118
Find Anatomy Books
When searching for books and other types of materials (e.g. videos, models, etc.), use the following search terms, as relevant:
anatomy, physiology, health science, medicine, toxicology, histology, renal physiology, cardiology, neurophysiology, endocrinology
- OneSearchSearch this online library catalog to find relevant books, DVDs, CDs, and more available in the Ball State University Libraries collections.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window Search WorldCat for titles held by libraries all over the U.S. and across the world. Once you find a title, use Interlibrary Loan services to request that it be sent to you at Ball State University.
- WorldCat.orgA free version of the WorldCat database (listed above) that provides basic information about titles and what libraries own them.
Selected Anatomy Books
This is a sampling of anatomy books located in the Science Library. More books with calls numbers that fall close to those listed below can be found in Bracken Library.
- The brain atlas : a visual guide to the human central nervous systemSci QM455 .W66 2008
- Color atlas of anatomy : a photographic study of the human bodySci QM25 .R55 2011
- Core anatomy illustratedSci QM23.2 .P285 2007
- Grant's atlas of anatomySci QM25 .A38 2005
- High-yield neuroanatomySci QM451 .F588 2009
- McMinn's color atlas of head and neck anatomySci QM535 .M25 2010
- Sobotta Atlas of Human AnatomySci Oversize QM25 .A7913 2013
- Surgical anatomy and technique : a pocket manualSci RD32 .S598 2009
- Wolf-Heidegger's atlas of human anatomySci Ref QM25 .W633 2005 v.1-2
Selected Anatomy DVDs & CD-ROMs
- Brain & Nervous systemDVD Video 2815 (Education, Music and Media)
- Circulation [videorecording]DVD VIDEO 5108 c.2 (SciLib)
- Cranial NervesDVD Video 1890 (Education, Music and Media)
- Digestion [videorecording]DVD VIDEO 5109 c.2 (SciLib)
- Endocrine systemDVD Video 3031 (Education, Music and Media)
- EyeDVD Video 2970 (Education, Music and Media)
- Eye: Structure Function and Control of MovementDVD Video 2997 (Education, Music and Media)
- Movement [videorecording]DVD VIDEO 5110 c.2 (SciLib)
- Plasma membranesDVD Video 2035 (Education, Music and Media)
- Reproduction [videorecording]DVD VIDEO 5111 c.2 (SciLib)
- Respiratory systemDVD Video 2845 (Education, Music and Media)
- Urinary systemDVD Video 2844 (Education, Music and Media)
- Ventricles & CFSDVD Video 2020 (Education, Music and Media)
Selected Websites
A selection of useful websites and databases that offer a reliable foundation for launching research in physiology, anatomy, and the health & medical sciences. Some are managed outside of Ball State network.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionThe Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the USA’s premier public health agency. Including the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (cdc.gov/MMRW) and the National Center for Health Statistics (cdc.gov/nchs).
- Health Databases from Ball State University LibrariesA list of health- & medicine-related databases filtered from the comprehensive database list. Includes CINAHL, Medline, HealthSource, ProQuest Nursing, etc. For specific databases, see the "Finding Articles" tab on this LibGuide.
- HealthFinderHealthfinder is an award-winning Federal Web site for consumers, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services with other Federal agencies. Since 1997, healthfinder has been recognized as a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet. healthfinder links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,500 health-related organizations
- Information Literacy Framework from the ACRLAssociation of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) website about information literacy including definitions, standards and guidelines, bibliographies, and professional activities and organizations.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new window Great resource for finding dependable (and free) medical information on the Internet. This database does not index journal articles, and is intended for the general public, not for health professionals. Also available in Spanish.
- World Health OrganizationWHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system.