About Archives and Special Collections
The mission of Archives and Special Collections is to collect, preserve, and provide access to archival and printed materials that support the research and instructional needs of students, faculty, national and international scholars, and the general public.
- Archives and Special CollectionsBracken Library, Room 210
Muncie, IN 47304
Related Resources
- Cardinal Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides access to Ball State's scholarly works and institutional records, including Theses and Dissertations and University Records and Publications. Note: You may need a BSU username and password to access some content.
- Digital Media Repository This link opens in a new window The Digital Media Repository offers digitized versions of a wide range of items including photographs, letters, posters, artwork, books, newspapers, and motion pictures. It also contains the Ball State University Board of Trustees minutes, building plans, course catalogs, and many other collections of university related items.
Introduction
Archives & Special Collections preserves a wealth of information on the Civil War, primary focusing on resources from Muncie and Delaware County. Included in these holdings are published and unpublished materials, manuscript collections, records in photographs, and digital collections.
Letter from D.W. Nelson to Robert and Sarah Nelson, 10/3/1861 from the Cassady Nelson Family Collection (MSS 23), Archives and Special Collections. Available online through the Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository at https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital
- Civil War Resources in Archives and Special CollectionsA PDF version of this guide.