Piano

Use OneSearch to find printed music in the Music Collection:

Printed music and books are located in the "Music Collection," which is part of Education, Music and Media on the Lower Level West. Use OneSearch on the Libraries' main page to find scores. Start with keywords including a composer, title, or number:

From the preliminary results, you can check facets like "Library Catalog" to narrow results. You can then select formats under Content Types including "Music Score":

The Music Collection at University Libraries uses Library of Congress Classification, or LCC, for organizing scores on the shelves. This system, maintained by the national library of the United States and utilized by libraries across the country and around the world, groups together scores by genre, form, and instrumentation. Each item is then assigned a unique call number which combines alphabetical and numerical characters. These features are designed to make browsing library collections easier for users and librarians alike. Tip: Enter the first part of a call number into OneSearch to see all items in a given section.

Call Numbers for Piano Music:

M20 - 39   Works for solo piano

M20   Miscellaneous collections

M21 - 32   Original compositions

M21 - 22   Collections

M23   Sonatas

M24   Suites

M25   Pieces

M26   Piano, one hand

M27   Variation forms

M28   Marches

M30 - 32   Dances

M33 - 39   Arrangements

M177 - 990   Two or more solo instruments

M200 - 212   Piano, four hands

M214 - 215   Two pianos, two performers

M217 - 285   Piano and one other instrument

M310 - 344   Piano and two other instruments --> piano trios

M410 - 449   Piano and three other instruments --> piano quartets

M510 - 549   Piano and four other instruments --> piano quintets

M1010 - 1011   Concertos for piano and multiple pianos

MT 225 - 240   Studies and exercises, including etudes

The Music Collection includes complete editions by these prominent composers of keyboard music. Complete editions strive to present scholarly editions of the complete works of a single composer and are classified in M3. As scholarly or critical editions, they are, according to Oxford Music Online, "prepared on the basis of a critical evaluation of all known primary sources [and] designed to present the most authoritative, authentic version of its contents." Feel free to ask the Music Librarian, if you need assistance as these multi-volume sets can often be difficult to navigate.

Also see the page Complete Editions (M3) at the Music History Research Guide for a full list of complete editions by approximately 160 composers housed in the Music Collection.

Users are encouraged to search for items beyond University Libraries' catalog via RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and WorldCat. Materials not available in print or online may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Please allow up to seven days for electronic delivery and up to fourteen days for delivery of physical items.