LibGuides: ENG 104 Zarearsanjani: Finding Articles and Books

Finding Peer Reviewed and Scholarly Articles About Your Topic

Academic Search Complete
Good for scholarly articles, also contains some magazine and newspaper articles too! It is good for most research topics. Includes the article text most of the time and when it is not, it has FindIT @ BSU which will help you find the text. You can limit your search to peer reviewed articles. If your topic relates to a specific area of study you might consider one of the databases listed in the Discipline Specific Database area below.

Description: Academic Search Complete is a good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text and peer reviewed articles.
Time Period: 1909 to present
Sources: Searches more than 20,000 academic and peer reviewed journals, magazines, and trade publications and provides full text for more than 5,700 titles.
Subject Headings: Architecture and Planning, Business, Education, English Literature and Languages, Health, Medicine, and Nursing, History and Culture, Political Science and Law, Music, News, Philosophy and Religion, Psychology, Mathematics and Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Material Types: Case Studies, Conference Proceedings, Symposiums, Images, Journal Articles, Periodical Articles, Reviews

Discipline Specific Database

APA PsycInfo
Good for psychology topics.

Description: PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education.
Time Period: 1887 to present with some content as far back as the 17th century
Sources: Indexes more than 2,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject Headings: Psychology, Education, Social Sciences
Material Types: Journal Articles, Dissertations, Theses
Sociological Abstracts
Good for sociology topics.

Description: Sociological Abstracts provides indexing for U.S. and international literature in sociology and related disciplines in in the social and behavioral sciences. May be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Coverage: 1952 to present
Sources: Covers more than 5,300 journals.
Subject Headings: Psychology, Social Sciences
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Dissertations and Theses, Books, Conference Proceedings, Symposiums
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Good for education topics.

Description: ERIC EBSCOhost is a key database in the field of education, providing access to journal articles, ERIC documents, dissertations and other materials.
Time Period: 1907-present
Sources: Contains 2 million records with nearly 600,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles.
Subject Headings: Education, English, Literature, Fine and Performing Arts
Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Documents, Government Documents, Books/e-books, Dissertation and Theses, Reference Entries, Reports, Grey Literature

Finding Books

OneSearch
Good for both books and articles. This is where you would go to find books in our library's collections. You will want to capitalize Boolean operators (e.g. AND, OR, NOT) and put quotes around phrases. It has a Scholarly & Peer Review facet in the left column of the results list. You can also narrow by content type (e.g. books, video recordings, etc.).

Description: OneSearch allows you to discover books and other materials in the Ball State University Library's collections. You can also use it to find journal articles on all topics. Search results can be limited to Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed articles and to a specific date range or subject discipline.
Time Period: 1600 to Present.
Sources: More than 100 Million journal articles, 4.5 million books and eBooks
Subject Headings: Architecture and Planning, Business, Education, English, Literature and Languages, Health, Medicine, and Nursing, History and Culture, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Technology
Material Types: Books, e-books, Journal Articles, Periodical articles, Newspaper Articles, Electronic Resources, Microform, Multimedia, audio, Autobiographies, Biographies, Conference Proceedings, Symposiums, Criticism, Documents, Government Documents, Images, Maps, Music Scores, Newspaper Articles, Patents, Reference Entries, Reports, Grey Literature, Videos

Finding Different Points of View

Access World News
News from around the world including editorials and opinion pieces. You can limit to a country and state. To limit to editorials put editorial OR opinion in a separate search and select Section from the dropdown box.

Description: Articles from 1,000's of newspapers around the world. Provides full text access to many local and regional newspapers in the U.S. Also contains magazine articles, transcripts, videos, and other sources.
Time Period: 1977 to present
Sources: Contains articles from 3,200 sources including newspapers, blogs, and magazines.
Subject Headings: General, News
Primary Materials: Audio, Citations, Magazine Articles, News, Reviews, Trade Publications, Transcripts, Videos
Nexis Uni
Contains newspaper articles including editorials, which are a good source for seeing what arguments are being made about issues. To limit to editorials, click on News in the grey bar above the search box and then click on the Advanced Search link below the News search box. Scroll down until you see the Section box and enter "Editorial" into the box. Scroll back up and enter your terms and click on the blue magnifying glass button.

Description: Nexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states. Also contains legal resources for Canada and the EU.
Time Period: 18th century to present
Sources: Searches more than 17,000 sources.
Subject Headings: Business, Political Science and Law, News, Social Sciences
Material Types: Journal Articles, Legal Materials, Periodical Articles, Newspaper Articles, Reference Entries, Reports, Grey Literature, Transcripts
Points of View Reference Center
Contains overviews of more than 500 topics which provides background information, both pro and con arguments, as well as a guide to critical analysis for each topic. You can either browse or search topics.

Description: Points of View Reference Center contains essays, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and research guides on more than 380 core topics. Each topic includes an overview with an objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
Subject Headings: General, Health, Philosophy & Religion, Social Sciences
Time Period: 1900 to present
Sources: Full text of more than 900 magazines, newspapers, and television transcripts. Also the text of more 1,200 books.
Primary Materials: Books/e-books, Magazine Articles, News, Reference Resources, Transcripts

ProCon.org
Provides a list of a wide variety of topics along with an introduction to them. Topics include things such as bans on fur clothing, free college, sanctuary cities, zoos, milk drinking, and binge watching