LibGuides: Sustainability Resources for Course Design: Resources for Course Content

Resources for course content: Textbooks and other OERs

OpenStax College This link opens in a new window
Description: Provides access to openly licensed, peer-reviewed, college and high school level textbooks. Many are from the fields of mathematics and the sciences. Students can use electronic copies or purchase print copies from Amazon.com.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Includes more than 65 textbooks.
Subject Headings: Business, English & Linguistics, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mathematics, Philosophy, Science, Social Sciences,
Primary Materials: Textbooks
Open Textbook Library This link opens in a new window
Description: Provides access to more than 1,000 textbooks in many disciplines. All books can be used for classroom instruction and can be downloaded and printed. Some textbooks have links to print on demand services which will allow students to obtain an at cost, print copy.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Includes more than 1,000 textbooks.
Subject Headings: Arts, Business, Education, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Learning Materials, Textbooks
Pressbooks Directory This link opens in a new window
Description: Pressbooks Directory is a publishing platform containing thousands of free, open access books by more than 150 organizations and networks. Users can copy, revise, remix, and redistribute openly licensed material in the Pressbooks Directory. More than 1,500 of the books include HP5 interactive content such as interactive quizzes and other learning activities.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Contains more than 5,500 open access books.
Subject Headings: Arts & Dance, Business, Communications and Journalism, Education, English & Linguistics, General Research, Health, Medicine, and Nursing, History, Humanities, Music, Philosophy and Religion, Political Science, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: eBooks, Open Education Resources, Open Access Resources
OER Commons This link opens in a new window
Description: Provides access to learning resources for all levels of education from a wide variety of disciplines. Some material types include textbooks, courses, lectures and lesson plans.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Includes nearly 4,000 textbooks, 2,300 courses, and 10,000 lesson plans.
Subject Headings: Art, Business, Education, English, History, Law, Mathematics, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Lesson Plans, Lecture, Textbooks, Courses
MERLOT This link opens in a new window
MERLOT was created in 1997 as a repository of shareable online teaching and learning materials for educators. Although it doesn't include textbooks, it does have more than 100,000 learning resources, including, but not limited to, assessment tools, learning objects, online courses and modules, quizzes and more than 80 syllabi.
Description: Browse and search an online repository of learning materials including textbooks, courses, assessment tools, learning objects, and other educational materials.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Includes approximately 100,000 sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences
Primary Materials: Learning objects, Learning Materials, Textbooks, Courses, Assessment Tools

Campus Sustainability Hub: Course Materials
A link to course materials in the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (ASSHE) resource database click on the Material Type facet in the left column and limit to a material. Types include syllabi, assignments and exercises, course presentations and instructor resources.

Resources for course content: Videos

Kanopy Streaming Films This link opens in a new window
Description: Kanopy is a film database containing more than 30,000 films from more than 1,000 producers. It includes the Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, News Day Films and more.

Note: Creating a profile allows you to access your Dashboard, where you can create and share a watch list. Here's how you do it, see Creating a Kanopy account near the bottom of the page. Also, Kanopy blocks video viewing on mobile devices in the device's native browser.
Time Period:
Sources: Select from more than 30,000 films.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Primary Materials: Videos
C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
Description: The C-SPAN Video Library provides access to hundreds of thousands of hours of C-SPAN video. Individual video transcripts are searchable and provide video clips containing your search terms. You can also search for bills from 1980 to the present.
Time Period: 20th century to present
Sources: Hundreds of thousands of hours of video.
Subject Headings: General, Humanities, Law, Social Sciences
Primary Materials: Legal Materials, News, Videos
Folkstreams This link opens in a new window
Description: The Folkstreams database provides access to more than 300 films from independent film makers on a wide range of topics. Topics includes African American Culture, arts and crafts, dress, ethnic and immigrant cultures, healing and medicine, religion, and social justice. The database partners are: iBiblio.com, The University of North Carolina, and The Southern Folklife Collection. See the Film Rights link within the database for information about classroom usage.
Time Period: 1946 to present
Sources: Contains more than 300 films.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Philosophy & Religion, Social Sciences
Primary Materials: Videos