Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil Rights Resources in Archives and Special Collections

Research guide to resources in Archives and Special Collections pertaining to the history of civil rights in Muncie, Delaware County, Indiana, and beyond.

Manuscript Collections

The following manuscript collections contain information concerning local civil rights issues and struggles in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana, and beyond. Please note that these collections contain materials that have not been digitized and are only available for use in the Archives and Special Collections research room.

The links below lead to the complete descriptive finding aid for the collection. Hover (mouse) over each title to display a brief description of the resource.

**Click here for a list of pamphlets from this collection that specifically address civil rights issues (links to OneSearch).

In addition to the larger manuscript collections described above, Archives and Special Collections also holds smaller manuscript collections of one or two folders of items, all of which are listed in our comprehensive Small Manuscript Collections Guide.

  • "Celebrating African American History Month: A Salute to the African American Firefighters/Pioneers of the Muncie Fire Department," Shaffer Chapel AME Church service program, February 24, 2002 (SC 411)
  • Harry L. Gudger reports on civil rights in Indiana, 1968-1989 (SC 17)
  • ‚ÄčNorthwest High School Controversy newspaper clippings, 1968-1969 (SC 294)
  • Proposed Northwest High School documents, 1969 (SC 422)
  • "Reminiscence on the Desegregation of Tuhey Pool," 1991 (SC 70)

Digital Manuscript Collections

The following digital collections contain materials from manuscript collections that have digitized either partially or in their entirety and are available online in the Ball State University Libraries Digital Media Repository.

Ball State University Archival Records

The Ball State University Archives is the official repository for the records of Ball State University that have long-term historical, legal, fiscal and administrative value. The University Archives contain a number of collections that document the history of civil rights on the Ball State University campus and in the surrounding community.