These databases are useful for finding articles from magazines and scholarly journals about toys. The databases represent various perspectives from which toys could be viewed, e.g. historical, business, social, etc. Try more general search terms like "action figures," "gendered toys," "nineteenth century toys," "toy marketing," or product names if you are interested in a specific toy, e.g. "Barbie," "Star Wars," or "Slinky."
America: History & LifeThis link opens in a new windowKey database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 19th century to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history.
Description: Key database for research in American and Canadian history. Indexes journals from the 1960's to the present, containing articles on all eras of American history. Time Period: 19th century to present Sources: Search more than 1,800 journal titles. Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, History, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Dissertation and Theses, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: EBSCO Updates: Monthly Number of Simultaneous Users: 6
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.
Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.
Description:JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.
Note: Additional content has been permanently added to JSTOR, including archived journal collections and primary resources. Searches performed using the databases page link will include results from the additional sources, as will the link above.
Time Period: 19th century to present Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals. Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews Information Included: Full Text, Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: No Print Equivalent: None Publisher: JSTOR Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Description:Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Time Period: 1886 to present Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources. Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science) Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: EBSCO Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies.
Description:Sociological Abstracts provides access to U.S. and international literature on sociology and related disciplines and may be useful for research in social work and women and gender studies. Time Period: 1952 to present Sources: Indexes more than 1,800 journals. Subject Headings: Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Social Sciences (Sociology) Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Journal Articles, Dissertations and Theses, Books, Conference Papers Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Full Text FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Updates: Monthly Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
APA PsycInfoThis link opens in a new windowKey database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Description:PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Time Period: 1887 to present Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals. Subject Headings: Education, Mobile, Psychology, Social Sciences (Psychology) Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly Primary Materials: Journal Articles Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Linked Full Text FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: American Psychological Association Updates: Monthly Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowGood database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites. Time Period: 1911 to present Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700. Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes Print Equivalent: None Publisher: EBSCO Updates: Daily Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited