Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 104: Emily Scalzo

Specialized databases

In addition to Academic Search Premier, there are other library databases that will be helpful to you. This page covers examples in JSTOR and ERIC. 

Find these databases through the Libraries' website:

  • To access the databases, go to the University Libraries Homepage
  • Select Databases under 'Popular Services and Resources'
  • Use the letters to find your database by title or the All Subjects drop down menu to choose databases by subject area

Or go directly to these databases:

JSTOR

JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.

ERIC (EBSCOhost)

ERIC is a key database in the field of education, providing access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature. About one third of the content is accessible in full text from within the database.

Use JSTOR

JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database covering a wide variety of fields.

When you first access JSTOR, it will bring you to the advanced search feature. For this example, the following search terms will be used to find pertinent resources related to young adults with depression and its social stigma in the communities they're part of. 

undefined

In the highlighted area above you enter the keywords relevant to your topic. Scrolling further down will present you with a myriad of options to further refine your results before selecting search, but you can also do this when you're on the results page itself. 

 

undefined

Entering the keywords from the example search yields nearly 5,000 results. To better narrow down these results to resources pertinent to your topic, it's important to take note of special limiters. In the column on the left are several options to consider: Academic content, primary source, publication date, and subject. 


undefined
Using the limiters in JSTOR can greatly narrow the scope of your search, as indicated by the highlighted area in the above example. In addition to the limiters, be aware of the topics attached to each resource; these terms can be incredibly useful as your research takes shape. 

Use ERIC (EBSCOhost)

The ERIC (EBSCOhost) database is an excellent tool to utilize as your explore your topics in special education. ERIC is a key database in the field of education. To access this database, select it on the A - Z Databases page found through the University Libraries' website.

When you first access the ERIC (EBSCOhost) database, you will be brought to the advanced search screen. Here, you will enter the keywords relevant to your topic and begin the search. The following example will outline what a search will look like concerning transitional programs for young adults in special education programs. 

Below is the advanced search for ERIC:


undefined

As you can see, the highlighted area is where you enter your keywords. The advanced search allows you to add and remove rows when you're creating your search. The advanced search also allows you to specify what type of results you want; for example, you can use the filters to show specific documents (books, reference materials, journal articles, etc.), language, education level, and target audience. You may also wait to refine your results until after you complete the search. In this example, we refine the results after the initial search. 



undefined
This is the results page in ERIC (EBSCOhost) after entering your keywords and selecting search. The highlighted areas give you some options when it comes to fine-tuning what you see in the results page. With the filters on the left side of the screen (highlighted by the arrows), you can limit your results to peer reviewed sources if you are looking for academic journal articles. There's also the option to limit what you see by a particular source type you're interested in: academic journals, books, reports, and more. Also note the Subjects listed under each article result on the list. You may want to replace some of your keywords with these subject terms to help improve your search.

 

undefined
When you find a resource that is aligned with your research interests, you can click on the title to read the abstract. If you don't see a link to full text for the item, you will see the blue MultiLink BSU button. Click on Multilink to search the University Libraries' other databases to see if the item is available elsewhere. If it's available from another database, the MultiLink button will bring you directly to the full text; if it cannot be located in the University Libraries' databases, the MultiLink button provides a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can make a request that we get a copy of the article from a different library for you.