Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 104: Emily Scalzo

Citation style guides online

Find citation information in library databases

You can find the information you need for your citation in library databases. After clicking on an item, you should see information like the authors, journal title, date, and issue in the database record. 

In a database:

In OneSearch, select the Preview button and you will find more information about the item:

Or, you may try the citation tool within library databases and OneSearch. Just remember that like any automatic citation generator, you will have to check the citation for errors. Most of the time, the citation tools produce citations with errors. 

Citation tool in a database:

Screenshot showing the Cite option in an item record at the bottom of the righthand options list

 

Citation tool in OneSearch:Screenshot showing the citation tool icon for a OneSearch search result at the upper right of the result.

A note about DOIs...

APA style requires you to include the DOI (digital object identifier) for any source that has one. (Usually articles you find online and through library databases have DOIs, but other sources such as eBooks often have DOIs too.) 

Here is an example of where to find the DOI in a search result from a database:

Screenshot of a search result showing the DOI near the bottom of the item record.

Here is an example of a DOI on a website for an open access journal online:

Screenshot showing DOI under the title of an article on the open access journal website DOAJ

  • The new 7th edition of the APA Manual asks that all DOIs be formatted as links using the current DOI format of the International DOI Foundation. This format includes the prefix https://doi.org/ 

So for the first example above, the correct way to include the DOI in your citation will be:

https://doi.org/10.1007/s11126-015-9398-7 

The full citation of the first example above would be:

Rozanova, J., Paraskevi, N., Smart, K., Roy, A., Southwick, S., Davidson, L., & Harpaz-Rotem, I. 

(2015). "I'm coming home, tell the world I'm coming home." The long homecoming and       

mental health treatment of Iraq and Afghanistan war veterans. Psychiatric Quarterly, 87,

427-443. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11126-015-9398-7

It is fine to display the DOI link as simple text, or if your word processing program turns it into a link, that is also acceptable. 

  • For more details on how to format and use DOIs in your citations, check out the APA Style article on the website of the American Psychological Association.