Citation Information
The way you cite a primary source will vary depending on which style you need to use for your publication or discipline. Please see the examples below for guidance on using the American Psychological Association (APA), the Modern Language Association (MLA), the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) citation information. For further information, regarding format you may wish to consult the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).
There are several elements which may be necessary to properly cite a document, photograph, or video.
The document: This includes the creator or author, specific item title, page, section, date.
Box and folder number: Most materials found in archives, that are not books, are organized in folders within archival boxes.
Repository: This is the name of the archive.
Online source: This includes the website, reference URL, and access date.
How to cite a traditional paper primary source document
Key information for the document shown on the right:
Document Title: Letter from George Dale to public
Date: 1927 January 17
Archival Collection: George R. Dale papers, 1922-2011
Archival Collection Identifier: MSS.045
Box: 1
Folder: 1
Archive: Stoeckel Archives of Local History, Archives and Special Collections, Ball State University Libraries, Muncie, Indiana
The letter from George Dale shown here could be cited in the following ways:
American Psychological Association (APA):
Dale, George R. (1927, January 17). [Letter from George Dale to Public]. George R. Dale papers, 1922-2011, MSS.045, Stoeckel Archives of Local History (Box 1, Folder 1), Archives and Special Collections, Ball State University Libraries, Muncie, IN.
Modern Language Association (MLA):
Dale, George R. Letter from George Dale to Public. 17 January 1927. George R. Dale papers, 1922-2011.
MSS.045. Stoeckel Archives of Local History, Archives and Special Collections, Ball State University Libraries, Muncie.
Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS):
Letter from George Dale to Public, 17 January 1927, Box 1, Folder 1, George R. Dale papers 1922-2011, MSS.045, Stoeckel Archives of Local History, Archives and Special Collections, Ball State University Libraries.
Citing a digital object:
The letter from the George R. Dale papers, 1922-2011 is also found online in the Ball State University Digital Media Repository (DMR). It is both a paper document in the physical collection and a digital object in the DMR. The best way of citing this document as a digital object using one of the above formats is to add the reference URL at the end of the citation.
Reference URL: https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/DlGrgRCol/id/288/rec/9
MLA Example:
Dale, George R. Letter from George Dale to Public. 17 January 1927. George R. Dale papers, 1922-2011.
MSS.045. Stoeckel Archives of Local History, Archives and Special Collections, Ball State University Libraries, Muncie. https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/DlGrgRCol/id/288/rec/9
How to cite an electronic primary source from the Digital Media Repository
Photograph Example
Photograph ExampleKey information for the digital photograph shown on the right:
Title: Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt at Muncie Boy's Club
Photographer: Greene, Richard A.
Date: 1939 October 25
Archive: Archives and Special Collections, Ball State University Libraries, Muncie, Indiana
Website: Digital Media Repository
The photograph shown here could be cited in the following ways:
American Psychological Association (APA):
Greene, Richard A. (1939 October 25). Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt at Muncie Boy's Club [Photograph]. Digital
Media Repository, https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/sg/id/1966/rec/1760
Modern Language Association (MLA):
Greene, Richard A. Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt at Muncie Boy's Club. 1939 October 25. Archives and Special
Collections, Ball State University Libraries, Muncie. Digital Media Repository, https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/sg/id/1966/rec/1760. Accessed 4 June 2020.
Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS):
Greene, Richard A. Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt at Muncie Boy's Club. Archives and Special
Collections, Ball State University Libraries. 1939 October 25. Photograph. Digital Media Repository, https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/sg/id/1966/rec/1760.
Video Example
Video on DMR: Vietnam Moratorium Committee keynote address
Key information for the video:
Title: Vietnam Moratorium Committee keynote address
Speaker: Harris, David
Date: 2019 October 11
Conference: Vietnam Moratorium Committee 50th Anniversary Commemorative Conference
Conference Location: L. A. Pittenger Student Center Ballroom, Ball State University, Muncie, IN
Archive: Archives and Special Collections, Ball State University Libraries, Muncie, IN
Website: Digital Media Repository
The Vietnam Moratorium Committee conference video shown here could be cited in the following ways:
American Psychological Association (APA):
Harris, David. (2019, October 11). Vietnam Moratorium Committee Keynote Address. Vietnam
Moratorium Committee 50th Anniversary Commemorative Conference, L. A. Pittenger Student Center Ballroom, Ball State University, Muncie, IN. [Video]. Digital Media Repository, https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/VietMoraComm/id/67/rec/62
Modern Language Association (MLA):
Harris, David. “Vietnam Moratorium Committee Keynote Address.” Vietnam Moratorium Committee
50th Anniversary Commemorative Conference, 11 October 2019, L. A. Pittenger Student Center Ballroom, Ball State University, Muncie, IN. Keynote Address. Digital Media Repository, https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/VietMoraComm/id/67/rec/62. Accessed 4 June 2020.
Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS):
Harris, David. “Vietnam Moratorium Committee Keynote Address.” Keynote address at the Vietnam Moratorium Committee 50th Anniversary Commemorative Conference, Muncie, IN, October 11, 2019. Video. Digital Media Repository, https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/collection/VietMoraComm/id/67/rec/62.