LibGuides: PR 680 Journalism and Mass Communication Research Methods: Home

Introductiion

Welcome to the PR 680 Journalism & Mass Communication Research Methods Research Guide!

Please contact me (jsshimkus@bsu.edu) for research assistance.

Library Services

University Libraries
Ball State University Libraries' main page.
Ask A Librarian
Contact a librarian by chat, phone, email, in-person or schedule a reference appointment.
Interlibrary Loan
Request a book, article, and other items not available at the Ball State University Libraries.

Databases

Business Source Complete
Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources. Company Profiles.

Description: Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Time Period: 1886 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
MultiLink: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Company Profiles
Company profiles include; company history, top competitors, industry profiles, market research reports, and SWOT analyses of more than 10,000 companies.

Description: Company profiles include; company history, top competitors, locations, subsidiaries, and often contain a SWOT analyses.
Time Period: Current
Sources: Contains more than 10,000 company profiles.
Subject Headings: Business
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Report
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
MultiLink: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states. Business - Company Dossier - Company name or Ticker symbol

Description: Nexis Uni provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, and transcripts. It is also a key database for business and legal research, containing company reports, law journals, and statutes and cases from all 50 states. Also contains legal resources for Canada and the EU.
Time Period: 18th century to present
Sources: Searches more than 15,000 sources.
Subject Headings: Business, General, Law, News, Social Sciences
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Journal Articles, Legal Materials, Magazine Articles, News, Reference Resources, Report, Transcripts
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
MultiLink: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: Lexis Nexis
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Complete
A good database for most research topics. Indexes more than 18,000 journals in various (Business, Education, Health, History, Humanities, News, Psychology, and Technology) subject areas.

Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 16,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
MultiLink: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides coverage of 620 publications in the fields of communication studies, telecommunications, emerging media, and journalism.

Description: Indexes research in the field of communication, mass media and related fields. Created by merging and expanding two previous databases: CommSearch
(formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State).
Time Period: 1915 to present
Sources: Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for 620 publications and the full text of more than 500. An additional 200 titles have selected indexing.
Subject Headings: English & Linguistics, Humanities, Mobile, Social Sciences, Technology (Communication, Journalism, Mass Media)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Books/e-books, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTOR
JSTOR contains approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines.

Description: JSTOR allows you to search across approximately 2,000 journal titles from more than 50 disciplines. It contains complete backfiles of scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date back from the 1800s. Although the majority of titles do not have the most recent 3 to 5 years available in full text, there are some which have the current issues available.
Time Period: 19th century to present
Sources: Provides the full text for approximately 2,000 journals.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Citations, Journal Articles, Reviews
Information Included: Full Text, Citations
MultiLink:
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: JSTOR
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited