LibGuides: ENG 103: Rhetorical Analysis of a Print Ad: Getting Started

Locating Advertisements

In order to find an advertisement you would to browse the Bound Periodicals collection on the west side of the 2nd floor. Titles are arranged alphabetically. Here is a short list magazines with advertisements include...

Architectural Digest
Better Homes and Gardens
Business Week
Byte
Car & Driver
Colliers

Cosmopolitan
Country Life
Discover
Down Beat
Ebony
Essence

GQ
Harpers Bazaar
Life
Time Magazine
TV Guide

Browse the collection for more examples.

Finding Articles Related to Research Topic

You may find articles related to your research question using these resources. Search using keywords that relate to your topic and refine your search using terms that you discover by looking at the search results list.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Good for information about your companies, advertising, advertising campaigns, etc.
Description: Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Time Period: 1886 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 6,700 journals and magazines plus thousands of reports and other sources.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, News, Social Sciences (Accounting, Finance, Management, Business Education, Banking, Economics, Marketing, Computer Science)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Report, Reviews, Trade Publications
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Good for all sorts of topics including advertising, psychological aspects of advertising and consumer behavior.
Description: Good database for most research topics and contains lots of full text, peer reviewed articles. More than 18,000 of the journal titles indexed are peer reviewed and almost all of the full text is. Provides searchable cited references for more than 1,000 journal titles so you can easily see what sources a given article cites.
Time Period: 1911 to present
Sources: Indexes nearly 18,000 journals and magazine and provides full text for more than 8,700.
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Case Studies, Citations, Conference Papers, Images, Journal Articles, Magazine Articles, News, Other, Reviews
Information Included: Abstracts,Full Text,Citations
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: EBSCO
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Good for research on human behavior.
Description: PsycInfo is a key database in the field of psychology. Includes information of use to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Time Period: 1887 to present
Sources: Indexes more than 2,500 journals.
Subject Headings: Education, Mobile, Psychology, Social Sciences (Psychology)
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Journal Articles
Information Included: Abstracts, Citations, Linked Full Text
FindIt@BALL STATE: Yes
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: American Psychological Association
Updates: Monthly
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Finding Books

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Locate books and magazines in our collection. Also good for finding journal articles related to your research interest.
Description: OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
Time Period: 1600 to Present
Sources:
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Music, News, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology
Scholarly or Popular: Scholarly
Primary Materials: Abstracts, Citations, Government Documents, Journal Articles, Books
Information Included: Abstracts, Full Text, Citations
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: ProQuest
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Good for locating books in other libraries. It also allows you to request books using interlibrary loan.
Description: WorldCat is the collected catalog of materials (such as books) owned more than 54,000 libraries worldwide. Great for exhaustive searches for books on a topic. Look for the "Request via interlibrary loan" link in WorldCat records to borrow items from other libraries using Interlibrary Loan. Use the "Check OneSearch" link in the record to see if we have book first.
Time Period: Antiquity-present
Sources: over 43,000 libraries
Subject Headings: Art & Architecture, Business, Education, English & Linguistics, General, Health, History, Humanities, Law, Mobile, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Psychology, Science, Social Sciences, Technology (Books, etc.)
Scholarly or Popular: Semi-scholarly
Primary Materials:Books, videos, computer software, music, etc.
Information Included: Citations only
FindIt@BALL STATE: No
Print Equivalent: None
Publisher: OCLC
Updates: Daily
Number of Simultaneous Users: Unlimited