Dance students! I'm your library liaison. If you have questions, just ask!
Bracken Library
Lower Level, BL 087
Having Trouble? Ask a Librarian!
Visit the Ask a Librarian page to find out the many ways you can get help from a librarian. Chat with us, phone us, email us, text us -- you can even set up an individual online appointment to get the assistance you need!
Welcome
Welcome!
This guide is for students in Susan Koper's DANC 211: Ballet 2.
Your upcoming presentation on a current ballet artist requires that you use scholarly sources.
This guide presents a some options for finding reliable written sources through OneSearch, as well as some suggestions for finding video sources to use in your presentation.
Source requirements
Your instructor requires that you find at least three sources for your research.
At least one source must be scholarly in nature.
Tips for using OneSearch
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window OneSearch is a tool that cross searches much of the content our databases and other online sources. You can search across many collections in one search box simplifying the resource discovery process.
A reminder of the tips we talked about in class for using OneSearch to find your sources:
After you search on your person, here are limiters you can use to narrow your search:
To limit to Scholarly sources:
To limit to sources which have an emphasis on dance:
To search for your artist's name as a phrase, so their first name doesn't get separated from their last name:
Use quotation marks around the name.
To search more broadly in case you don't find ANY sources or don't find enough good ones:
To see if the University Libraries owns books or DVDs about your figure:
Requesting articles/books we don't have access to
When you click on the title of your article you'd like to read, if you do not see a link to the full-text of the article, remember that you can place a request to get it through Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan can:
- get you a link to an article we don't have in our collection
- borrow a book for you from another library if we don't have it in our collection
From a OneSearch record for the title you want, look for the link that says "Request the item with Interlibrary Loan"
Just keep in mind that getting Interlibrary Loan requests fulfilled takes time.
This means you need to start your research EARLY!
Have questions about how to place your Interlibrary Loan request? For fast answers, use the Ask a Librarian Chat option.
Streaming video options
Though a Google video search could certainly yield results for your artists, the videos found Dance in Video are high-quality and worth searching in. (Not all of the chosen performers are included, however.) Another plus is that full citation information is included, which can be hard to find at times when searching YouTube.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowDance Online: Dance in Video provides 900 hours of video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.