Subject Guide
Questions? Just ask!
Books on course reserve for ARCH 201 in the Architecture Library
Go to the Reading List for ARCH 201 - Barry for the full list and links to e-reserves for this course.
History of Urban Form Before the Industrial Revolution by
Provides an international history of urban development, from its origins to the industrial revolution. This well established book maintains the high standard of information found in the previous two editions, describing the physical results of some 5000 years of urban activity. It explains and develops the concept of 'unplanned' cities that grow organically, in contrast with 'planned' cities that were shaped in response to urban form determinants. Spread throughout the texts are copious illustrations from a wealth of sources, including cartographic urban records, aerial and other photographs, original drawings and the author's numerous analytical line drawings.
Call Number: HT166 .M59 1994ISBN: 0582301548Publication Date: 1994-03-07
The City Shaped : urban patterns and meanings through history by Call Number: HT111 .K63 1991ISBN: 0821218670Publication Date: 1991-11-01
The City Assembled : the elements of urban form through history by
"Spiro Kostof's previous book, The City Shaped, examined ways in which cities develop through history, treating them as complete entities and analyzing the various categories into which they fall. Now, in what is both a companion volume and an independent study, he traces the component elements that make up different types of cities: streets, public places, urban divisions (religious, political, and social), and the fringe area where city and countryside meet." "In every instance, Professor Kostof follows a story that ranges widely in time and place up to the present to indicate that the discussion remains fresh and engages our own time in unexpected ways. In the past, all the elements of a city evolved in response to a variety of pressures. Today they are usually the result of planning decisions. In a final chapter, Kostof considers "urban process" - the effect on cities of natural disasters, war, and comprehensive redevelopment, compared with incremental growth and change. His book is thus an exercise in architectural and social history, a case study for the present, and a pointer for the future. Urban form is never innocent of social content: it is merely the matrix within which we organize daily life, and we have strong opinions about it. Modernism was a harsh intrusion in the development of almost every theme. The current recovery from the less tolerant aspects of that doctrine has made us look again at what it is that we treasure in the traditional city, and how we can recharge the old urban forms with present-day common sense." "The story is also told in over three hundred drawings, prints, paintings, and photographs that trace not only patterns but uses, from the colonnaded street of ancient Palmyra to the recent demonstrations in Prague's Wenceslas Square."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: HT111 .K625 1992ISBN: 0821219308Publication Date: 1992-11-01
The Genealogy of Cities by
A unique atlas of city plans from ancient to modern "Graves's illustrations will be the standard and will be used in research and design work for a long time to come." --David Grahame Shane, Columbia University School of Architecture Although contemporary professional use of the term dates from the mid-twentieth century, "urban design" has been practiced throughout history. Examples of carefully planned ancient cities exist in Asia, India, Africa, Europe, and the Americas and are hallmarks of classical Chinese, Roman, and Greek cultures. The Genealogy of Cities is a compilation of ancient and modern city plans, from 350 BCE to the present, depicting both built and proposed plans. Written in clear and accessible prose, it is illustrated with more than 500 plans drawn at the same scale, a unique feature of this work. It provides a previously unavailable tool for academics and professionals who must grapple with the issue of scale in researching and teaching urban design or when creating new urban spaces. Author Charles P. Graves Jr. created these computer-generated plans to provide a method of understanding models for modern cities while also creating a series of typological diagrams for both historical periods and city fabric. Also included in this volume is a CD containing nearly 1000 plans that will allow the user to print the urban plans at any scale. This will be a useful and impressive reference book for students, scholars, and urban design and planning professionals and those interested in city planning, urban geography, urban morphology, architecture, cartography, and art history. Supported by a grant from the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Art
Call Number: G1046.G45 G7 2009ISBN: 0873389395Publication Date: 2009-02-23
Skylines of the World by
This text features 49 cities around the globe, comparing historic skylines of some of the world's most treasured cities, including New York, San Francisco, Toronto, Dublin, London, Edinburgh, Rome, Frankfurt, Oslo, Prague, Jerusalem and Sydney.
Call Number: G140 .G66 2008ISBN: 9780789399793Publication Date: 2008-10-21
To Scale by
How big is Moscow's Red Square in comparison to Tiananmen Square?nbsp;Why are there fewer public squares in Japan than in Italy? What lessons might be found in the plan of Savannah, Georgia's historic district?nbsp; To Scale is a collection of plans of urban spaces drawn at the same scale to help answer these questions by providing a single and accurate resource of urban plans for architects, urban designers, planners and teachers, and students. The book contains one hundred figure-ground plans from seventy-eight cities around the world, describing an identical area (half a kilometer square) for each urban space. Accompanying each plan are photographs, diagrams and text that illustrate essential aspects of the plan or urban space for the designer. This compilation is an excellent resource helping to visualize, compare and reconceptualize urban design fornbsp;students wanting to understand the lessons of existing cities and the making of urban spaces.
Call Number: NA9070 .J46 2008ISBN: 9780415954013Publication Date: 2008-01-08
Researching Cities
Keywords for Research
- search for city name and history
- search for city name and city planning and history
- search for city name and city planning
- search for country name and "cities and towns"
City Research Resources
- OneSearchSearch for books, DVDs, building material samples, and other materials in the University Libraries and articles in select databases.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Key database in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and historic preservation. Also covers Archaeology, Decorative Arts, Interior Design, and Furniture. Some linked full text is included.
- Business Source CompleteIndexes scholarly and popular journals, magazines, and newspapers. Covers city planning and offers full text for several planning journals.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts indexes articles that cover world history from the 15th century forward, including military history, women's history, and the history of education. The database includes some linked full text and searches can be limited to articles about a specified historical period.
See also the IMAGES search in JSTOR for historic city maps and plans.
